Power Plant on a Sunday, 13 June 2010


After mass this morning, hied off to Power Plant. Had lunch at Kulinarya after son gave us 2 choices: Pazzo or Kulinarya. I chose the latter. I don’t fancy pizza or pasta for lunch too often.

Son suggested seafood maki which he ordered the last time he was at K with a friend. And it was good. Kani maki with mango puree and mango rounds, fried to a crisp.

Husband ordered salpicao – he was craving for garlic and the food attendant suggested that. He asked that it be cooked Medium rare – it was the best. Tender. Downside – serving was rather small. It came with rice though bread was an option, I think.

Son ordered italian sausage pizza. Winner. The tomato sauce reminded me of pizza of yore – made from scratch, possibly?

I ordered lengua – is the grass always greener on the other side of the fence? My dish was the least nice. I asked if they had risotto and they said I could have it at an extra cost in lieu of rice or mashed potato. Mushroom risotto plus parmesan cheese. Not bad. Lengua came with sidings of corn, asparagus, carrots

Later, when we looked at the bill, there was a P10 entry. I asked what it was for: extra garlic for the salpicao. Ngek.

Just wondering – where do tips go? At one resto recently, I saw a waiter surreptitiously slide the tip into his pocket, after looking right and left if anyone was looking. Arrgh, I thought waiters shared tips. I felt bad that he pocketed everything because he didn’t even serve us. I should just have left a P1 tip. But like a relative once said, after you do a good deed, what happens next has nothing to do with you, so don’t worry. Sigh still, though.

After lunch we stepped out and saw this controversial celebrity couple buying expensive fruits and veggies from the parallel rows selling them  on level P1. Blind item so I’m not telling who. Really controversial. The song “break up, to make up” or rather the words “break up, to make up” apply to them, ad infinitum. Later bumped into my sister and told her about seeing them. She said “hay naku.” Later saw a white BMW that had an indication of their profession (2 capital letters) and husband surmised it was theirs.

My sister texted me if I saw this other controversial couple whom she saw buying magazines in Bufini. Broadcasters both, partners now, not married. She was married before, I don’t know about him.

At P1 of Power Plant are goodies from various parts of the Philippines. I bought stuff from Casa Carmela to give to a friend, and bought some for the house. Am currently enjoying the chicken inasal pate on Magic Flakes. I didn’t buy the piayitos with chicken and chives on which they spread the pate for people to try. Banana chips are tasty. Pompano – my son liked so I got a bottle.

M, sorry if this post makes you feel hungry again.

One thought on “Power Plant on a Sunday, 13 June 2010

Leave a comment