Korean Design (and then some)


In my post Korean Fun, I promised to filch pictures from my son’s trip. Here’s one:

Screen shot 2013-06-22 at 8.14.57 AMThis was taken in one of the palaces in Seoul.

Below is a screen capture from You’re the Best Lee Soon Shin

Screen shot 2013-06-22 at 12.39.44 AMThe man’s being there is incidental. But notice the color palette? This is not in the palace but is a fence. Somehow, history is preserved in the “modern” architecture in Korea.

Now here’s another thing which caught my attention in the same series:

Screen shot 2013-06-22 at 8.11.20 AMLook at where the man in red pants is walking – isn’t that a ramp? It is so made that it looks good rather than tacky, yet it serves a purpose. It’s a ramp for the disabled, I guess, or for people who wish to avoid steps/stairs. Nice, right?

See the furniture  below, the one with several drawers. I’ve seen a similar one in a Negros bazaar (this year’s will be in Glorietta come September, by the way) some time ago. Anyway, it befuddles me. How on earth can one remember what is in each? Unless of course one labels each drawer like the card catalogs in libraries of the past were labeled. Yeah, I’m old. Or are card catalogs still used in libraries today? Though, if the drawers were labeled, the thing would hardly be decorative. What is one such furniture called? I wish I knew. M, do you?

Screen shot 2013-06-22 at 8.29.49 AMI can imagine the difficulty I’d have remembering the contents of each drawer if I had this. Reminds me of the memory game where you match similar tiles that you open and turn around, while trying to recall which ones have the same image in them.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

