The “something more” in Koreanovelas


Many quibble when I advance the pros of watching Koreanovelas. But I persist in arguing for them and in watching them, regardless of what pundits say or think of me for choosing to watch them.

Screen shot 2013-06-28 at 8.11.29 AM

Currently, I am watching “I Hear Your Voice” upon the recommendation of Susan. And believe it or not, it drove me to go over a document the family received more rigorously than I did before. Why so?

IHYV is centered on public defenders, newbies both. They make mistakes and the experts correct them, guide them. They’re driven to reflect on what they already know or think and see for themselves what was wrong/what could be improved. I try to think along with them despite the little I know about the law. And this drove me to look over a document and to discover a flaw in it. Numerical in nature but nonetheless a flaw.

Another thing, the same telenovela has two students discussing the integral of sine and cosine. They’re in Senior year in high school. So calculus is taught in high school in Korea? Wow.

Screen shot 2013-06-28 at 8.10.09 AM

A few days ago, I watched The Housemaid, a Korean movie shown in the Cannes film festival. A dark movie, a suspense thriller. It’s an adult film with nudity. But what caught my attention even more was the mention of  Dostoyevsky’s The Idiot by one of the characters in the movie. That made me curious and I went on to google the work and found this article of AS Byatt, among others. I didn’t finish the movie, stopping at a third to the end because gore was starting to surface. And I detest gore.

I could go on and on about Koreanovelas and movies– their merits especially. With no intention to convince anyone, no. But with every intention to convince myself that this avocation is not totally a waste of time and energy.

🙂

*******

Lucky me that husband and son listen when I regale them about the merits and plot of Koreanovelas. Yesterday, I told husband about the twin brothers who committed a crime and how the public defender convinced her client to squeal on the brother, etc. in IHYV. Husband said, “That’s the Prisoner’s Dilemma. It’s a game in math.” It is that and more. Read about it here.

Leave a Reply

