Beef Teppanyaki


In most Japanese restaurants, I order beef teppanyaki. I like Kimpura’s very much and the beef Roku uses is also quite good. In some restos, beef can be rubbery but not in the two aforementioned ones.

Little did I think that beef teppanyaki could be made at home. I checked out the Internet and saw this recipe of Chef Boy Logro’s.

Ingredients:

  • 250 grms beef tenderloin or wagyu
  • 50 grms Butter
  • 1 jigger brandy
  • 20 grms Garlic chips
  • 2 tbsps Kikkoman sauce
  • 1 tbsp Cooking oil
  • Pinch of salt
  • Pinch of crushed black peppercorn

Procedure:

  1. Have ready heated teppanyaki, pour oil then place beef tenderloin, flambé with brandy, use lighter to ignite the brandy.
  2. Stir fry in teppanyaki table with garlic chips until golden brown, then set aside.
  3. On one side corner of teppanyaki table, place the butter until melted and add in the Kikkoman sauce.
  4. Cut the beef into portion size and, just before serving, spoon over the beef melted Kikkoman sauce and butter, and over the top with garlic chips.
 
 Unfortunately, it didn’t have a video with it so I googled. And found quite a few in YouTube. I showed a couple to HHA and more or less put in my own inputs based on the various videos. I didn’t have her put brandy but instead had her put mirin. Just 1 tsp of Mirin and 1tbsp of soy sauce. Procedure was this:
 
Saute some garlic cloves in oil. Set aside. In the same oil, saute the beef. As we don’t have a teppan grill, she uses a teflon pan which meant she couldn’t slice the beef in the pan the way it’s done in the videos. So she pre-sliced the beef. Then add the soy sauce and mirin, some salt and pepper. And because I had asked HHB to get some white mushrooms, I had her put that too.
 
The result was amazingly good. I think the secret lay in the beef which I got from Food Bin. A bit pricey but then it turns out cheaper than having the dish in Kimpura. Though I must admit doing this at home with beef from FB is more expensive than ordering the  dish from Roku. Oh well. But I think it’s worth the expense sometimes. HHA added a little butter to the dish too.
 
Try it.
Leave a Reply

