Gallimaufry


Last week, I think it was, when I went to S&R, I asked HHB to get the tomato basil soup of Campbells. I told son about it because he likes pesto, while husband and I aren’t too fond of it because of the basil compo.nent, I guess. As the soup was sold in batches of 8 cans, I had no choice but to get a batch, rationalizing that son could take this for lunch in his office. HHA alternates sending with him fish, chicken, sausage (those huge ones) and soup. 

Then, when I asked HHA to prepare the soup for son’s lunch, she said there wasn’t any around. I was aghast. What she did find was a set of mushroom soup. What? I thought, perhaps HHB had taken the wrong batch and she said in the vernacular, I just get, I don’t look. Sigh.

Then when I hired the Wheelmobile last Wednesday, before I could go out, HHB came in smiling. There was the tomato basil soup. It had been inadvertently let in the WM. Thank God for a perceptive and honest Mang Roger.

So son had it for lunch one day and liked it. HHA had forgotten to add bacon or ham. The can is bigger than the usual mushroom soup so while HHA insisted on preparing the entire can’s contents for son’s lunch, I was firm – just half a can.

Tonight, husband and I shared the remaining half can. What can I say but that it’s very good. It doesn’t taste like canned soup at all. And it had cubes of tomatoes, making it chunky in a sense. Hope S&R doesn’t stop carrying this product.

Image

 

***** 

I read somewhere a few tips on food like if you order steak that’s well done, it’s possible that the steak that will be used is not the best there is. I guess because thorough cooking can hide the marbling? Another tip – supplies in the kitchen are freshest on Tuesdays. My own tip: when you eat in Kimchi in Shangrila, if you’re way too early, you won’t get a free bowl of broth. Why? It’s not ready yet if you arrive at 11. Or was it just last Friday when it wasn’t? 

*******

Yesterday, shared a chicken sandwich with HHB before going home. The stress of dealing with my absent for a while credit card must have aggravated my hunger. Ordered a pack of potato chips which is served with homemade mayo. So good. So decided to take home a bag of chips and a bottle of mayo. The bag I got was way too big. It came with two medium-sized containers of mayo. Yummy.

****** 

Started to read a book I got second hand: Misreadings by Umberto Eco. But I couldn’t proceed after two pages. heavy words were rife and I couldn’t press on a page to know their definition. One of these days I hope to finish at least one story. It’s an interesting anthology. Do I mimic Yes magazine’s style and describe it by quoting Amazon or wikipedia? No. Suffice it to say that Eco rewrites short stories by well-known authors, among them Lolita who’s named Granita in Eco’s book, for example.

*****

I like learning new words but when I see too many all at once, I balk. For example, I was starting to read “Don’t Believe the Pipe. A show charts the rise of Magritte’s uneasy reality” in Time magazine. Then in quick succession I saw the words: innocuous [not harmful or offensive] and prosaic [having the diction of prose, lacking in poetic beauty] , later, fin de siecle [relating to the end of a century].

Some interesting ideas in the article: Magritte’s referring to his work as “material tokens of the freedom of thought” and the author’s insight/question: “Is it too much to think of Magritte’s art as a kind of cautionary note for the Internet age? With its warnings about the treachery of images and the ways language itself is a disinformation campaign, it’s a collective metaphor about the limits of knowledge and the pitfalls of communication. It’s aimed at us, bent over our phones and keyboards, eagerly retrieving `information,’ all the while punked, all of us, almost all the time.” The article’s author is Richard Locayo.

Among the photos posted in the article is this painting of Magritte called The Interpretation of Dreams, “which bluntly instructs us in the arbitrariness of language by uncoupling words from the things they represent–except in the one instance, the valise, when it doesn’t.”

Okay, I confess I was oblivious to the uncoupling when I first looked at the photo, noticing the seeming incongruity only after I had read the author’s description/discussion of it.

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

