The Bane Attendant to Not Reading the News


A few days ago, it was my son’s birthday. He hinted that he didn’t want anyone who could or had greeted him personally to post a greeting on FB. So I didn’t. Threrefore, each time  someone coursed a greeting for him through me, I just said it to him when I had the chance.

One such greeting was from a mom I got acquainted with when we were co-parents in our children’s nursery school. She sent me a private message in FB, asking me to greet my son for her. And beyond that greeting was news that made me cry.

Almost three years ago her husband passed away from a stroke. I felt so bad that I didn’t know about her husband’s passing. He was someone who stayed in the sidelines while his wife, daughters and I would chat briefly after mass. He’d smile from close by. I never thought of him as a snob because his smile was warm. And now he’s gone. And I didn’t know about it when it happened, so I was not around to mourn with the family.

As he was with government I thought of googling any news on his passing.I was so sad reading about him because apparently he was a good public servant so much so that media, as a body, grieved. He was their ally of sorts and they had lost him.

As I was reading post after post on him, I was crying. So when a friend from college called, he must have sensed that something was amiss. He asked why my voice was the way it was. I gave some feeble excuse but I don’t think he was convinced. I wanted to explain as our conversation drew to a close but was scared I’d just cry again if I did.

This incident is one such that made me wish I regularly read the papers. But really, reading the papers can be so distressing and depressing.

And, after all, ignorance is bliss, right? But sometimes, too, one misses out on one’s obligations, among others, because of it.

Still the world is such that things have a way of coming around somehow.

 

On a happier note, my mom-friend promised we’d set a date as soon as she’s better. I hope it’s soon because that means she’s well enough for a tete-a-tete.

Screen shot 2013-10-11 at 8.23.00 AM

 

image from here

Leave a Reply

