Koreanovelas


I’m watching 4 now, yes 4: Passionate Love, A Little Love Never Hurts, Golden Rainbow and Heirs. And the winner is Heirs. The actors are engaging, there’s chemistry among them.

Screen shot 2013-11-25 at 10.10.38 PM

Passionate Love – perhaps there’s passion in the story but the characters or maybe the acting is so cold. I’m interested in how things will pan out but there’s no fire in the series. Just a lot of problems, one after the other. Oh yes, there are two characters here that light up the screen: the quirky sister of the patriarch of the chaebol family and the defiant but sweet aunt of the male lead, the good man. She was in Life is Beautiful. But they are not the main leads so the screen lights up rarely.

Screen shot 2013-11-25 at 10.11.05 PM

A Little Love – I so enjoy watching oh no, I don’t know his name – the young man who’s an upstart, the one who finally got a job after so many rejections. His earnestness is so convincing. But the series has side stories galore that I’m not particularly interested in – like the philandering husband whose first and second wives are friends because the first wife is so nice. The ex-girlfriend of the cute young man who has a job I find her too saccharine and her chef boyfriend too perfect it’s annoying. His sister who’s falling for the upstart is cute. So is their mom. Their dad too, though he’s a bit low-key. So, after Heirs, this might be my second “favorite” among the four.

Screen shot 2013-11-25 at 10.11.43 PM

Golden Rainbow has young actors and actresses and they’re okay, they act well. The perpetually mean grandma has a soft spot in her and that’s nice, for a change. But the problems of the good people in this series are amazingly aplenty.  C, Jeremy is a meanie here again. Jeremy is the orphan who was sent to college by a fellow-orphan and turned corrupt. Too weak to defy the system. So why do I call him Jeremy? That was the name of his character in The Yellow Handkerchief – way back when I watched Koreanovelas on TV where the characters are voiced by Filipino radio talents. As of the episode I’m watching, the leads are the children but they will grow up. As I haven’t yet “met” their older versions, I’m including the photos of the younger ones. Who knows if I’ll watch this till the older ones take over?

Screen shot 2013-11-25 at 10.12.39 PM

The different series are not done yet. Heirs I don’t want to end soon. I don’t want A Little Love to end soon either. The two others….

All photos from asianwiki

Leave a Reply

