What if…


you’re doing the groceries. You’re selecting various kinds of fish and are having them weighed and packed singly in plastic bags. You’re not done yet then someone butts in/inserts and makes her own selection? That happened to me this morning at Rustan’s. I was contemplating on what other fish to buy while waiting for those I had already chosen to be weighed and priced. But after the other woman started to choose what she wanted, the fisher-guy didn’t attend to us any longer. Good if that woman were buying just one item but she was selecting  plenty. At first I was patiently waiting but she was taking too long. I told HH to tell the fisher-guy to cancel my purchase. And later I told him the same .He did not seem contrite and simply said to me, “Okay lang.” The other woman was still there and she just looked at me – no apology or remorse forthcoming at all. I told my maids never to do what she did but to always wait their turn, confronted with the same scenario.

Later as we were still in the grocery, the woman who usually attends to my purchases in the fish section said sorry but also added that the fisher guy said we were finished already which was why he attended to the other woman. What does finished mean exactly? Our fish were still with him. Is that equivalent to finished? Not by any stretch of the imagination, methinks. Oh well. Two in a row my visits to Rustan’s Katipunan have been marred by “hostile” incidents. Hay, if Shoppers were nearer….. Though in fairness, the two in the fish section were the only blights to this otherwise happy trip to Rustan’s this morning. Oh well.

Perhaps Rustan’s should train its personnel again – to attend to customers on a first come, first served basis, never mind if the other customer looks richer, stricter, is mestiza, sexier, etc. There was a guy who’s a familiar face in the meat section. I told him about my experience in the fish section and he listened quietly and apologized. Had the other fish-person (the woman) said sorry and not mentioned what the fisher guy said, I’d have appreciated her gesture. But she seemed to side with him. Well, there are other fish in the ocean. I got my fish and shrimps from Cold Storage instead, though I usually don’t. I had already had him set aside salmon, blue marlin tanguige, headless shrimps, tilapia. No, I’ve not turned pescatorian. The fish supply this morning just looked so enticing. Again, oh well.

*****

The stuffed toys of fruits and vegetables promo has ended in Rustan’s. In its place is a raffle. Tickets are issued per P500 worth of purchases of participating products only. Price is a BMW. No planner this year, sadly.

******

Chocolates galore packed for Christmas from the source (Lindt, Mrs. Fields, Hershey’s, etc) were available. Walker’s shortbreads too. So many choices really.

Screen shot 2013-12-03 at 2.39.22 PM Screen shot 2013-12-03 at 2.38.54 PM Screen shot 2013-12-03 at 2.38.20 PM

4 thoughts on “What if…

  1. Di ba? I was wondering if I should just keep quiet about it but if they can do it to me they can do it to anyone and it’s so unfair.

    Misery loves company, thanks for sharing.

  2. Happened to me in Monterey sa Savemore. When I told the lady that I was there first, sabi nya di daw nya ako nakita (dalawa lang kaming customers!!! Sa taba kong ito!!!), yet still proceeded ordering (the bagger naman, pushover). I wasn’t able to keep my temper in check and told her that she’s setting a bad example to my daughter (kasama ko si S).

Leave a Reply

