My WordPress Stats


Annually, WordPress sends a summary or annual performance report of how WP blogs perform to their individual owners. My stats are to sneeze at so I’ve never posted them. In the past there would be spikes and I’d always blame/credit them to a fluke or a search engine trying to please me. Yesterday morning, I wasn’t expecting anything and went to my dashboard. I saw the comments logo was orange and had a symbol I’d never seen before. I clicked on it and saw this:

Screen shot 2014-01-04 at 7.32.25 AM

I think my number of views was something like 150, more or less, quite early in the day. That is so unusual for my site. I checked where the spikes were at and saw that they were on the home page/archives. And immediately under the post that had the most hits was Lourd De Veyra’s letter to Vic Sotto.

A few hours, I checked again. The lightning like symbol was lit:

Screen shot 2014-01-04 at 7.32.41 AM

Whoa, right?

And a few hours ago, here was the message WP sent:

Screen shot 2014-01-04 at 7.32.53 AM

My site is famous, NOT.

Yesterday, amazed at the phenomenon, I checked how my site ranked in google insofar as LDV’s letter to VS fared. I was fifth. Later I checked again, I was sixth. The intrusion was Pep.ph’s inclusion in the google list of choices. Now my post on the letter is not on the first page of Google’s list any longer. Less than a one day wonder, apparently. I didn’t bother to check the third page because I’m sure I’m not even there.

Fun while it lasted. The numbers LDV got made me balk and wonder: should I end my blog’s existence with those phenomenal numbers? Crazy, I know, because while numbers say a lot, they don’t say everything. Besides, why deprive myself of the fun I derive from posting in this blog?

My stats in the bar chart as of now, 7:47 a.m. Do the math to find out whatever. I’m curious: how many read the post because they’re fans of VS? How many because they are fans of LDV? Oops, sorry for the headless (almost) date. I wanted to fit in the stats of the two topmost posts

Screen shot 2014-01-04 at 7.46.38 AM

 

Leave a Reply

