Off the beaten track (at least as far as my posts are usually concerned): House solutions


I always wish I had more space at home. Or that I had the political will to discard/throw out – you get the drift. But I am such a lazy/sentimental type whose discard stuff spurts are few and far between.

The two “shares” I’m posting today I wish I had the budget for. I have a feeling that if I avail of the first, I’d as quickly forget/ignore the things I put in. As for the second set, I wish. See my comments on some of them.

First share:

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.13.59 AM

Years back, I read that Lucy Torres and Richard Gomez are renting a container van or more in Cavite for their old furniture et al. How I envied them. But then again, I thought, if I store something, likely I will not remember I did or will find them too yucky to reuse? Still, I must admit there are things in the house I’d like to keep but don’t really use and the above service seems appealing. I recall telling a friend who had just come back from years abroad about a similar arrangement. I’m not sure she availed of it though. The rates seem reasonable. They beat renting a condo unit, methinks. Years back a friend who owned an appliance store told me when I asked how long they’d take to get  a TV set I wanted from their storage and he said their storage was close by – in some hotel near the mall! Wow, sosyal, I thought. And then some time back, a friend said she got storage space in a hotel in Makati. Even more sosyal. But I digress. The pricing scheme of Safehouse taken from their website:

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.33.42 AM

And now for my second “share”. Saw this in a friend’s wall and was amazed by some, amused by others. As the one who came up with the article titled it, these are “31 Insanely Clever Remodeling …”. I’m posting a few of them with my comments:

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.15.16 AMDecades back, I saw one such sunken living room in a friend’s brother’s house and was impressed. But it was also in that house where my friend warned smokers not to use the leather ashtray. (hahaha, it was for display only)

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.15.59 AMI think Bantay would prefer space outdoors?

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.16.27 AMThis is cool but where will the dead rodents and insects disappear to? Will they evaporate? Or will they infest your house with ants flocking on their dead remains? And the stench. The stench. Ugh.

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.16.43 AM

Is this idea really cool? In terms of maximizing space, I guess it is. It also frees one from having to clean the bottom of a cabinet. But to bend so low? I don’t know but somehow, this doesn’t make me comfortable. But then again, it just may be me.

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.16.57 AMIn Pylones, they have magnetic scissors, magnetic memo boards, magnetic so many things that made me wish I had a magnetic wall. But will I be grounded by all these magnets? I am the type who gets grounded touching this or that metal object. Once I made beso-beso with a friend in True Value and we felt a non-romantic but physiological ground there. Scary.

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.17.20 AMCool. And airy. Is that you Spiderman? But aren’t you usually in a prone rather than supine position? Oh, you wanted a change. And where’s your costume?

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.17.30 AMThis is so ideal for someone in a wheelchair. Now, if I could afford to have a new house made…. Dream on, self.

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.17.45 AMShoot, errrr, shute. Saves a few steps these.

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.18.17 AMA friend had a house with a really high ceiling in the living room and I loved it. I grew up in a house with such. Years later when we visited, the high ceiling was no more. They had built a room between the floor and that high ceiling. Sad.

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.18.46 AMIn our cramped bedroom is a long table that’s 3/4 filled with all sorts of stuff. Name it, you might find it there. Underneath that long table, we put a filing cabinet that has all sorts of stuff. Sometimes, when husband has nowhere to lay his plate on (we have our meals in the bedroom because of the convenience brought by the non-need to transfer me to a wheelchair and wheel me to the dining area), husband sometimes pulls out the filing cabinet and eats atop it. So this idea is hardly original. Husband thought of it first. I kid. But really, he does what I said he does.

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.19.09 AMLook at that nice wine rack. Now this I wish we had. We have so many bottles of wine, mostly gifts and they’re on the floor, atop cabinets, etc. Hmmm. But am too lazy to undertake this project. Plus wine bottles have different girths. (Rationalizing my inaction)

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.19.23 AMI seriously cannot fathom how this works. Please explain. I clicked “actual exists” and it led to this site: http://www.aerusvacuums.com/. So where do the waste bits go really?

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 7.21.17 AM

Nice romantic idea. But what if instead of the moon and  stars, one sees rodents? Or worse, a thief?

Okay, I’m too boring to see romance where more earthly concerns can surface.

Still check out the site from where I culled the above. Some ideas are really good.

2 thoughts on “Off the beaten track (at least as far as my posts are usually concerned): House solutions

  1. Ninenerbyos ako sa hammock.
    Would love to have a little place for the dog under the stairs. I’m sure my beloved canine will enjoy staying in it — he likes cool, dark places.

Leave a Reply

