Kung Pao Chicken


Bought a pack of Trader Joe’s kung pao chicken from Food Bin. A pack of 600 plus grams costs P595. I had half of the pack cooked for the three of us: husband, son and myself. The  quantity was just right, I thought. To accompany it, I had HHA prepare pineapple fried rice. Why pineapple fried rice? So my son would eat some fruit. He eats greens but not fruits. My polar opposite.

Wow, the kung pao chicken was so good. I wanted more but there was just enough for the two men left after I got my share. I asked if they wanted more cooked but they said no. Deep down, I knew all three of us wanted more. But because of our respective prides, we went hungry. sigh.

So the next day, I  got another pack of kung pao chicken from Food Bin. So now there’s 1.5 packs of kung pao chicken in the freezer. One of these days, I’ll eat an entire half pack by myself. Just kidding. But it really was so good. Spicy but not too much. Thick sauced but not too thick.

Do I eat 1/2 of that 1/2 pack for lunch? Hmmmmm.

Do get a pack if you have the chance to do so. It doesn’t taste like you bought it frozen. Promise.

3 thoughts on “Kung Pao Chicken

  1. This afternoon, while doing the groceries at Galleria, I saw a pack of seasoning mix, “Kung Pao Chicken”. I remembered your post re: this. But, since I am a bit frugal, instead of buying from the Food Bin, I decided to make my own Kung Pao Chicken using this pack. In the label, its says, “easy and authentic seasoning mix”.It costs 18 pesos per pack. I bought 1/4 kilo of deboned chicken thigh, small ginger, spring onions and pack of peanuts.

    The recipe:
    Dissolved 1 packet Kim Kung Pao Chicken Mix in water (1/2 cup). Set aside. In a wok or skillet, heat oil and stir fry chicken (250 grams cut into 1/2″” thick cubes) until well-browned. Add peanuts (1/4 cup) and stir fry. Add ginger (1 tbsp ginger strips) and leeks (1/2 cup), stir fry. Add the dissolved mixture. Cover and simmer for 1 minute or until sauce thickens. Lastly, add the chopped spring onions (1/4 cup) and dried red pepper flakes (if desired). Serve immediately.

    I did not add dried chili. But, it tasted good as well. In less than 20 min, I was ready to serve this dish. My daughter and husband liked it. Para daw inorder sa restaurant.

    There are other Kung Pao packs ( like fried rice), I will try later. Mukhang short cut way of cooking “authentic” Asian dishes…

    Happy New Year!

    • Wow thanks for the tip, Malou. Will look for the packet soon and that for fried rice. I like fried rice! Happy New Year! (Add peanuts to the Kung pao chicken – or did you do that already?)

Leave a Reply

