TIMBERLAND Philippines- Kudos!


Okay, last Friday, as I mentioned in an earlier post, son got a pair of shoes from Timberland in Paseo de Santa Rosa at 50% off. We were enthralled – okay that’s an exaggeration, but you get the drift. Timberland products we could and would always look at longingly but found too expensive. So getting a pair of shoes from it at 50% off spelled happiness.

But when son put them on the next day prior to his date, he said the colors of the right and left shoes weren’t exactly the same. One shoe was darker/lighter than the other.

My eyes aren’t that good so I said it’s not that bad, but when son came home from his date, he said the girlfriend noticed the disparity. What to do? Go back to Santa Rosa? I googled on how to address the problem and found solutions. And I even found posts that seemed to accept the problem matter of factly because they’d bought their shoes discounted.

But I am third world so i expect bang for the buck as a son’s friend would put it. And I really found it distressful that though I paid a lower price, I should get a less than quality product; outdated, maybe; past its season, maybe. But the quality should still be evident, right?

At one point during my incessant googling, I noticed that Timberland had a Facebook account. I checked that out and saw its address to simply be Marikina City. I decided to leave a message:

“Hello. Please help.

Yesterday, I got my son a pair of shoes in your outlet store in Sta Rosa (paseo). When we came home, son noticed that one was lighter than the other, maybe because one was kept in a box while the other was exposed. Can something be done to make their color similar to each other? I hope you reply asap.

Thank you.”

I have an optimistic streak, true, but I was nonetheless skeptical about getting a reply. Many companies just ignore you, right? Like Philip Stein US which initially answered me and then when it found out I’m not US based said I just had to go to a service center. Initially it had said it would send me the strap holders for free, but went back on its word. Anyway, to Timberland.

Sent the above message at 9 pm Saturday night. Look at the date and time of the reply:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.29.12 AM

I saw the message when I woke up at around 4 a.m. and was elated but failing to get up without assistance, I had to wait until the husband or the son would wake up. Eventually they did, so I replied:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.31.28 AM

Then they answered:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.33.39 AM

My reply:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.34.44 AMand added:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.35.40 AMGot the following answer:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.36.37 AMMe again, thinking ahead:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.37.33 AMScreen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.38.30 AMMe:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.39.25 AMScreen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.40.46 AM

Moi:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.41.32 AMStill very polite, they replied:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.42.23 AMMe:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.43.23 AMScreen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.44.16 AMHusband brought the shoes over Monday around noon. While he was there the store people called up an Oliver whom husband said sounded okay. He promised to update within two or three days.

Today, which means two days later, I saw the following message:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 11.47.00 AMWhen I asked how the refurbished shoes look now, they answered:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 12.05.45 PMI messaged back:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 12.07.08 PMThe response:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 12.08.57 PMMine:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 12.08.08 PMFinally, Oliver’s:

Screen shot 2014-02-05 at 12.11.01 PMOh, and I also got a call in my cell, but the other party couldn’t hear me; I had a feeling it was the store calling. Before I could text, I received the following message:

photo-15

So there, customer service at its best. Hooray for Timberland Philippines which is fortunate to have Oliver answering mail with alacrity and product knowledge, never losing his cool, ever; not a hint of impatience, ever.

But as the President said “the proof is in the pudding” Or did he say “the proof is in the eating” – either one an abbreviation of “The proof of the pudding is in the eating.” And so the proof we will have tonight. Can’t wait.

Will surely update this post with photos. I hope we won’t be disappointed.

THE UPDATE:

Last night we went to SM Marikina and got the shoes from Timberland. Here’s a photo:

photo-27Better? it was refurbished using the thingy beside it. Waximum or something. For good measure, I got one at P499. Can be used on leather bags as well.

Thanks again, Timberland, particularly to Oliver and the lady who attended to us last night, patiently showing us how to use the wax. And guess what? She said “thank you” and  “sorry”. Pity I didn’t get her name. Like Oliver, she’s represents Timberland Philippines well. 🙂

Here’s a better image of Waximum, from the website of Timberland:

Screen shot 2014-02-06 at 7.12.19 AM

Leave a Reply

