Brazilian Cheese Bread


TPS so fortunately found tapioca flour in Dumaguete and sent me a kilo. Minutes after it arrived, I started preparing to bake Brazilian cheese bread using the recipe below:

 

Posted by Elise Bauer on March 19, 2010

Easy Brazilian Cheese Bread (photo)

 

  • Prep time: 5 minutes
  • Cook time: 15 minutes
  • Yield: Enough batter for 16 mini muffin sized cheese breads.

 

Ingredients

  • 1 egg*
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • Scant 1 1/2 cups (170 grams) tapioca flour
  • 1/2 cup (packed, about 66 grams) grated cheese, your preference, though we got the best results from Mexican farmer’s cheese – queso fresco
  • 1 teaspoon of salt (or more to taste)

 

Method

 

1 Preheat oven to 400°F. Grease a mini-muffin tin. Put all of the ingredients into a blender and pulse until smooth. You may need to use a spatula to scrape down the sides of the blender so that everything gets blended well. At this point you can store the batter in the refrigerator for up to a week.

brazilian-cheese-bread-3.jpgbrazilian-cheese-bread-4.jpg

2 Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes, until all puffy and just lightly browned. Remove from oven and let cool on a rack for a few minutes.

&&&&&&&&

I didn’t have beginner’s luck in the sense that the bread didn’t come out perfect. I had HHA get it from the oven after 15 minutes; the top had crusted a little but the inside (I got one) looked like palitaw. Added another 10 minutes, it still didn’t look like bread to me. Added another 5 minutes and stopped there. Looked at the bottom and saw that it looked a little more like the photos of the same bread I had seen in other sites so decided the task was done. When husband came, he got one though he was skeptical at first. Then he got another.

Tonight, when son saw it, he asked, “ano yan? Bread eto?” Then he got one, then another, and then another and then another. They all beat me. I should try it again tomorrow. And I should keep on doing this till I am blue in the face. I exaggerate. Till I am please with the result. Incidentally, I used leftover queso de bola from Christmas. The taste isn’t too perceptible. I should add more cheese next time and maybe use a different kind?

I won’t even post a photo. Unless tomorrow what I see will not be too unpresentable…

2 thoughts on “Brazilian Cheese Bread

Leave a Reply

