He’s my foreignoy (and then some)


A new segment of Eat Bulaga is “He’s my Foreignoy”. It’s a lot of fun. The contestants are 100% foreign, some of them a mix of two races – like one contestant now is part Iraqi and part Malaysian; the other was from Denmark.

The first part of the contest entails an interview in English. Then a siren buzzes. They are asked questions in Tagalog, made to read a Filipino word, and then a Filipino saying. Afterward, they either dance a Filipino folk dance or sing a song in Filipino. The contestant from Denmark had his mom and friends around; the second contestant had female friends with him. The other day, the contestant from HK had his dad with him. A cute concept that somehow makes me wish that schools in the Philippines would require the students to learn Filipino folk dances and Filipino songs so that when they look back, they can claim that they once upon a time danced a Filipino dance. Never mind that when my son was in grade school, he danced the maglalatik and made one extra turn or turned around late but made the required number of turns so that everyone had stopped turning he was still turning.

Now my son is grown up and is constantly mistaken for a Chinese – by some Chinese here in the Philippines, by Chinese in HK. His foreigner contacts via email expect to see a Spanish looking contact when they come over. Instead they meet a Chinese looking one who doesn’t speak a word of Chinese.

I constantly encourage my son to learn a Chinese dialect but he said he has no one to practice it with. Besides, which should he learn? Any suggestions, anyone?

 

4 thoughts on “He’s my foreignoy (and then some)

  1. not difficult to learn mandarin. Taiwan mostly speaks mandarin and fookien. Most Filipino Chinese here speaks fookien at home. but in school we are taught to learn mandarin coz its more dominant in other countries. In Taiwan , most dramas and movies are in mandarin.

    • Wow, thanks for the encouraging words. Maybe I should learn to so he’ll have someone to practice with. But I’m sure I’ll learn way slower than he. Will share your views with my son.

      Thanks again.

    • Wow, thanks, Susan for the suggestion. I will tell my son. Is Mandarin difficult to learn? My nephew in Taiwan was given a tutor by the company that employs him, and he speaks so fluently now. But I’m not sure what Chinese dialect he knows.

Leave a Reply

