My Phone and I


 i have an iPhone 4s. My son has a 3g, I think. he refuses to trade it in or upgrade, maybe when iPhone6 is released, he said. He advised me against updating (?) to ios7 software saying his friends who did have complained that it slows down the phone.

Earlier today on FB, I found this article on my cousin’s FB wall, taken from here. It starts out thus: “On Friday, Apple quietly released iOS 7.0.6, explaining in a brief release note that it fixed a bug in which “an attacker with a privileged network position may capture or modify data in sessions protected by SSL/TLS.” That’s the understated version. Another way to put it? Update your iPhone right now.

Oh, and by the way, OS X has the same issues—except there’s no fix out yet. 

So, I proceeded to check out my settings and pending updates, one of them IOS7.0.6. I tried to update but guess what? My phone’s memory has only 300 plus MGB available. The bulk, like 8.5 GB is taken up by music. Okay, I listen to music, my music in my phone but not to the extent of 8.5 GB; when uploading the music, I was just too lazy to screen out those I wasn’t too fond off more diligently.

So what to do? I tried to sync my phone to my Mac and thought it would be as simple as in the past. But everything was different – I had upgraded to mavericks a few weeks back. What to do? what to do? Son isn’t here to guide me, husband feels helpless because he doesn’t use an iPhone. 

Google to the rescue, I decided. And lucky for me, I found this site that offered two methods for deleting music in one’s iPhone provided one doesn’t have IOS 7.0.6 installed yet. And the procedure is so simple, I understood it:

How to Delete Music on Your iPhone

Deleting Music Off of Your PhoneRemoving Music Using Your Computer

Edited by Maluniu, Yoko Kanai, Jeff, Brendan and 7 others

Whether you need to free up some space or are just tired of a song or artist, there are times when you want to dump some of the music on your iPhone. This article will show you how to do that with minimal fuss.

 
 
 
 

Method 1 of 2: Deleting Music Off of Your Phone

  1.  

    Understand this method. This method allows you to pick between individual songs using only your phone as an interface.

     
    Ad
     
     
  2. Delete Music on Your iPhone Step 1.png
     

    Check to see if iTunes Match is enabled. From the Settings control panel, tap “iTunes & App Stores.”

    • If it is turned on, you will not be able to delete songs from an iPhone.
     
  3. Delete Music on Your iPhone Step 2.png
     

    Turn off iTunes Match. If it’s enabled, toggle the switch to “Off.”

     
  4. Delete Music on Your iPhone Step 3.png
     

    Open the Music app. Press the button to return to the Home screen. Tap the app to open it.

    • If the app is not on your Home screen, you can access it by double-clicking the Home button, then swiping the Recent Apps bar to the right.
     
  5. Delete Music on Your iPhone Step 5.png
     

    Delete a song. Tap the Songs button at the bottom of the screen. This will give you a list of all songs loaded onto your iPhone. Locate a song you want to remove, then swipe sideways on the track name. A red Delete button will appear. When you click that, the song will be removed.

     
  6. Delete Music on Your iPhone Step 7.png
     

    Remove an album. To do this, click on the More button at the bottom of the screen, then select Albums from the list above. From the list of albums, select the one you would like to remove. Swipe the album name, and a red Delete button will appear. Tap that to remove the album. [1]

    • Note that in iOS 7, albums and artists cannot be deleted in this manner. However, deleting all of the individual songs in an album or by an artist will also delete the album/artist off of album/artist lists.
     
 
 *******
The second method entails synching with the Mac, so I didn’t bother to read it.
Thanks author of the site. Now I wonder — should I upgrade to IOS7.0.6? From the deleting of songs alone, it seems the upgrade will make my life more complicated, though judging from the gizmodo article, it should make my phone and transactions more secure.
 
What to do? What to do?
 
PS – I have begun deleting songs manually and I haven’t reached a 100 deleted songs yet. I had some 1385 when I started out. Shhhh…..
Leave a Reply

