Where seldom is heard a discouraging word


The title of the blog caught my eye as it was a song I used to sing to my son whenever we’d read an Ernie and Bert book that contained the line, which also was the song’s title, “Home, home on the range. Where the deer and the antelope play”, after which either Ernie or Bert said “Shucks.” I was so thrilled then when son suddenly said “shucks” after I sang the last note, “play”. The words following were not in the book so I had all but forgotten them, though I knew where the title of this post came from immediately. Such a long and irrelevant intro to a blog worth lending a pause to, not necessarily for Lent merely, but for all time. In my case who rants, nitpicks and groans at the Pollyannas in my life, this is easier said than done. Still wonders never cease.

The First Gate

See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil, by John Snape, CC-BY-SA-3.0 See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil, by John Snape, CC-BY-SA-3.0

This morning I showed my wife a newspaper photo depicting a politician who closely resembles a recent movie villain.  “No one will vote for him,” I said.

She laughed and agreed, but a little while later said, “Wow, that made it hard.  I’m trying to give up criticism for Lent.”

I apologized, for I know how hard real spiritual discipline can be.  Then I reflected that her resolution echoes a thought I’ve had on and off for some time – cutting, or at least reducing, the negative topics and posts in this blog.  The period of Lent, about seven more weeks, seems like a good trial period, so I’m going to try this experiment and figure it out as I go along.

When considering this move in the past, I’ve had fears along the lines of becoming…

View original post 501 more words

Leave a Reply

