Mother’s Day doings


Heard mass with HHB and near the end, I saw the white ladies– eek that sounds so Balete ghost-like, so let me rephrase that, I saw the ladies in white with bunches of red roses. I thought they were for offering to Mama Mary for Mother’s Day. Then I was handed one, I thought instructions would follow that I should offer it to her in the altar along with all those who got the flowers, but then as the lady in white handed me the rose, she said, “Happy Mother’s Day.” So did two women greet me on their way out. I was hard put on what to answer because they were strangers, still I said, “Thank you, same to you.” Then it occurred to me was one of them a mom? Oops, blooper. Maybe not. Because while the other one did go to the altar with a rose, the other didn’t. So what should I have said, just “Thank you”? Confused.

Then at Rustan’s the personnel greeted me and at one point, I checked myself because I almost said, “Same to you” to a male personnel. Oh well, it’s hard to be getting older and absent-minded. Or is such a faux pas  excusable/normal?

Incidentally the reason I went to Rustan’s was to claim my free imported ice cream, one pint. For Star Sapphire holders. Last year there was a promo saying to present the card and claim something. I sent HHB but the guy in charge asked for the text message to be shown him. As a rule, I don’t send my HH’s with my credit card or cell phone out, primarily because they might be held up or something more than that I don’t trust them. So, lest she be asked for the text message by the then surly personnel, I decided to go to Rustan’s myself. Luckily it wasn’t the surly guy in Customer Service plus I was equipped. Have yet to try the ice cream though, it was almond praline mocha or something.

Enjoyed my trip to Rustan’s yesterday. See, the day before, I took an inventory, a visual one only though, of my junk food and chocolates and seeing there was still enough, I didn’t bother to go to that section. So I think I was a good girl at the grocery yesterday, keeping the purchase of non-essentials at a minimum. I did buy Breyer’s ice cream because it had vanilla, strawberry and chocolate in one blow, reminiscent of Silver Bell ice cream back in the 1970s. How I loved that ice cream which was sold in one place only in Bacolod – St. Mary’s drug store. These were sold in pints, half gallons and cones and I’d usually stop by on my way home to get a cone at least. But I digress.

I bought mussels – the guy refused to let me buy just half of the pre-packed shells, saying it weighed less than a kilo, anyway. So okay, with a heavy heart, I did get it. And watermelon was being sold at P29 a kilo instead of P50, so I got one too. Have yet to open it which might be delayed because on the way home, I saw this young man who’s always selling me fruits. Yesterday he had mango at P100 kilo. I know, Rustan’s was selling it at P89 but well, so this man will be off crime in the streets, sige na lang. His companion was selling Bangkok lanzones at P250 a kilo, cheaper than Rustan’s. I tried one per his suggestion, it was so good. I said I’ll get one but was dubious that local lanzones was mixed with the Bangkok ones after the second and third I tried weren’t as good. He was offering to sell me 2 1/2 at P600 but I said no. Firmly. Accomplishment.

********

When I got home, I saw a huge box on my bed. I thought HHA had just laid it there as she was fixing the room then I saw it was a long box. Oh, is that for me? I asked. Then I saw “Island Rose”. Wow, from son. Earlier, at Rustan’s I got a text message from him and I thought that was it. When he was around 7 years old, my sisters and I went to Max’s and there were streamers that read, “Happy Mother’s Day!” I told son to read it and he said, “Happy Day!” He was teasing me and refused to say “Mother”. Naughty. Anyway, he’s older now and I guess his having a girlfriend has made him more thoughtful? Or at his age he’s more appreciative? I hope. So there, roses. At the bottom of the roses in the box, I saw this brown thing in plastic. First thought, “Oh, chicharon”. I was hungry, apparently. It was 10 am and I hadn’t had food since dinner the night before.

photo1

I got the plastic with the brown thing, turned it over and saw a bear. Dumb thought, I know. Chicharon with roses.

Screen Shot 2014-05-12 at 7.28.38 AM

********

At around 4 pm, I got a text from son to whom I had sent a picture of the roses and bear earlier via iMessage. He said, “Oh good, it got there na.” Remember our harrowing experience with Island Rose before? Then son added, our flight is delayed. He was in Cebu. He added, it will leave at 6:55. An hour late. Okay, he was taking PAL although I know Cebu Pacific is just as notorious about delayed flights, making PAL look like an angel? That his flight was delayed made me decide to take my time. I know how sometimes, the original delayed time can be moved yet again.

At 6:30, he texted. They were boarding. Uh-oh. I was nowhere near ready to leave. We left the house at 7:04. It was like racing against the plane form Cebu, some 500km away. We were traveling 17 km to the airport at a speed way below the plane’s. Plus the traffic which the plane had none to contend with.

Waze to the rescue. It suggested taking the route  Katipunan, White Plains, u-turn in EDSA, etc. It said 45 minutes. Along the way, Waze said traffic had freed up along the way so we’d get to the airport 4 minutes earlier. Then later it said there was traffic build-up on Domestic Road. At any rate, we got to the airport maybe at 7:47. By 7:50, son texted, “Plane just landed”. He was out by 8:30. So long. Because there was a guest with him and he waited for the guest to be fetched before he came to us.

Dining options. Earlier I had called Bulgogi Brothers and was told they’d close at 10. In Greenbelt. As I don’t like the feeling of being hurried as the establishment or even the mall was about to close, I thought we should dine at a hotel. Son chose Fairmont. Okay. Then we realized, Fairmont just has one dining place with “Real” food as opposed to pica-pica and pastries. And when we got there at 9:10, the lady said the resto would close at 10:00, or at least, the buffet. I asked if we could have a la carte, she said yes but the food would be served in 25 minutes. Pockets open, eyes closed, no choice, okay, buffet.

Service was happy and efficient, as could be expected. Waiters along the way greeted “Happy Mother’s Day” and no, I didn’t say “Same to you”, not once. Food was still good but they had run out of Peking duck in wraps. 😦 I had just a little of real food because I don’t like to acid regurgitate which I might if I ate too much, it being nighttime. I chose hakaw, siopao asado, pork spareribs. My Chinese-ness (so diluted but it’s there) always prevails. Had soup which was Oriental, ergo it had shades of ginger. Why is ginger haunting me these days? Good for me literally, I guess.

I liked the desserts and had black forest cake (so 1980’s, right?). Creme brulee was good but I still prefer Ninyo’s melt-in-your-mouth version, especially the coffee one.

Son enjoyed dinner which was I think really important after 6 days of hard work. he had a bad cold from fatigue, I guess. He still has but didn’t look as tired as I feared. For maybe three nights, he’d text from abroad and then Cebu, “I’m dead tired.”

*******
happy mother’s day yesterday, I hope you had.

Some Mother’s Day thoughts, not mine but Kevin Durant’s (Clippers player) when he received his NBA award:

The following is an excerpt of Durant’s speech, perfectly timed for a week when we all need a little reminder about how moms often are our own Most Valuable Player.

 

“I grew up in a county outside Washington D.C. called Prince George. Me, my mom, my brother, we moved to many different places. It felt like a box. It felt like there was no getting out. My dream was to become a rec. league coach. I love basketball so much. I love playing it. I just never thought I’d make it to college, the NBA. Never thought I stand in front of you guys today and be NBA MVP. It’s a surreal feeling.”

“I don’t think you know what you did. You had my brother when you were 18 years old. Three years later I came out. The odds were stacked against us. Single parent with two boys by the time you were 21 years old.

Everybody told us we weren’t supposed to be here. We moved from apartment to apartment by ourselves. One of the best memories I had is when we moved into our first apartment. No bed, no furniture, and we just all sat in the living room and just hugged each other because we thought we made it.

When something good happens to you, I don’t know about you guys, but I tend to took back to what brought me here. You woke me up in the middle of the night in the summer times. Making me run up a hill. Making me do push-ups. Screaming at me from the sidelines at my games at eight or nine years old.

We weren’t supposed to be here. You made us believe. You kept us off the street, put clothes on our backs, food on the table. When you didn’t eat, you made sure we ate. You went to sleep hungry. You sacrificed for us. You’re the real MVP.”

(taken from here where the video of his 30-minute speech can be found as well, but it’s not all about his mom.”

 

Check out this NBA promo based on that speech:

 

http://www.sbnation.com/nba/2014/5/11/5705640/mothers-day-nba-kevin-durant-mvp-speech

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Mother’s Day doings

  1. I cried too when I read the piece, it’s not as gut and heart-wrenching heard because I’m so used to sub-titles (from K drama) that I don’t listen well. Re showing your gratitude to your parents, you still have many chances to make up if you think it’s necessary. It’s never too late somehow. 🙂

  2. When I started reading, I was laughing so hard; now I’m a bit teary eyed — my parents sacrificed so much for me and brother, and I sometimes feel that I haven’t thanked them enough.

Leave a Reply

