There are friends and there are friends?


A few weeks ago, I texted a friend. Hours later, my cellphone rang. You know what it’s like when your cellphone is in your bag, right? Among a gadzillion other things and it’s buried deep down? By the time I found my phone, the ringing had stopped. So I texted the one calling and got this reply:

Image

Run? Okay maybe she meant that as a figure of speech? because it’s not as though she doesn’t know I’ve been on my wheelchair since 1982.

So she scheduled dinner for last Saturday. Friday, I texted that I’d like to cancel as I wasn’t feeling well. She said, “We can just postpone… Let me know when you will be available.”

I answered, “Thanks.”

She replied minutes after, “So any suggestion for date?”

I texted back, “I’ll text you when I’m better.”

Actually what I wanted to text back was this, “I don’t have a crystal ball that will enable me to say when I will be well enough to have dinner with you.” Arrgh.

IN contrast, last night, I got a text from a good friend cum relative who said she’d be in the area and could drop by Thursday. I said I’ll have to see as I’m not feeling well. She asked, “What happened?” My reply and hers follow:Image

pilit is an Ilonggo word for “force (it)”. Sweet, right?

********

 

Quotes on friendships thrive and I guess it’s because there are so many ways friendships come about, grow, end:

Screen Shot 2014-06-23 at 7.31.47 AM Screen Shot 2014-06-23 at 7.25.49 AM Screen Shot 2014-06-23 at 7.24.29 AM

3 thoughts on “There are friends and there are friends?

Leave a Reply

