Life of PI


When Fr. Steinbugler passed away recently, I read a FB post of a friend who mentioned that Fr Stein had advised him to read Life of PI.

Having interacted with Fr. Stein a few times, I thought maybe, he would have advised me the same had our friendship continued. Fr. Stein was one spiritual but highly intellectual person, or so I gathered, from the few times we conversed and the few times I heard his homilies.

So now I’m reading the book. And the first quote that struck me was this:

“If we, citizens, do not support our artists, then we sacrifice our imagination on the altar of crude reality and we end up believing in nothing and having worthless dreams.”

Does this mean artists are the soul of a people? Perhaps so. The diminution of the value we put on culture and the arts – is it responsible for the state our country is in now?

I am no expert so I can only conjecture.

Hopefully, I shall be able to write in more meaningful quotes from the book I hope to continue reading.

Leave a Reply

