To renew or not


It’s my mother’s birthday on  Sunday. Would have been her 96th had she not passed away at age 59. I am 58 now, what are the implications?

A few years back, an older sister said she had surpassed Mama’s longevity. I was taken aback there; was there a competition I didn’t know about?

Then today, I read the post of a friend in his late 40s. He was gauging how much longer he has left to live in light of his dad’s age upon death and another relative’s, and based on such data, he was ruing whether or not to renew his passport.

My passport expired last month. This passport was my second. Shortly after I was paralyzed, my HH then and I were looking at some papers in another room, I still remember that scene vividly, when I saw my passport and decided to just throw it away. In my condition, I didn’t see a need for it.

Then back in 2009, after being denied the right (privilege) to open an account by some bank as I didn’t have a government issued ID, I thought of getting a passport and went through the rigors, survived and succeeded. Shortly after, son left for Europe and friends suggested we visit him. With the first document necessary on hand, we proceeded in procuring the rest and visited son. Just my husband and I – an adventure which wasn’t easy for either or both of us logistically as he had to attend to my needs, I had to wait for him to be ready to do so, I felt myself to be a burden, etc. And the worse part of it all was developing a pressure sore.

In 2012, son, husband and I went to Singapore. My pressure sore hadn’t fully healed but was manageable. The burden of taking care of me still fell on my husband though he had a certain amount of help from son.

In light of the above, It has occurred to me to renew my passport and travel, but with HHB in tow so the two men will be less burdened. But the pressure sore that hasn’t fully healed prevails on me not to bother going anywhere so far any longer. Plus getting HHB a passport will be one long process I dread having to go through again.

Do I renew my passport? I don’t need it for ID purposes any longer because when I got one in 2009, I was so fired up I also got an SSS card.

So should I? My much younger friend whom I cited earlier is thinking twice about renewing, and I have more reasons than he not to.

Still who knows whether one day, out of sheer boredom, I set an appointment to do so with DFA in Megamall? Although if I get a plane ticket from Singapore Airlines, I must go to its doctor to get clearance to travel once more.

That calls to mind two things:

a) IN 2009, the SIA doctor told me to get a blanket clearance from an office near the domestic airport so I need not get one each time I traveled. His suggestion then amused me. Did I look like I could afford it?

b) A friend who lives in Australia said she isn’t asked to present a medical clearance to fly. Makes me wonder why the discrepancy in policy. Third world issue? Hahaha, am I being sensitive?

At any rate, to go back to the question I started out with, do I  or do I not renew my passport? Will I? Should I?

4 thoughts on “To renew or not

  1. C – I have been mistaken for pregnant and I am apparently disabled. What will merit you access to the courtesy lane? Beauty of face and figure? That thing about what if… Do I quote quezon? But I don’t agree with his statement. What to do?!!

  2. “Then today, I read the post of a friend in his late 40s. He was gauging how much longer he has left to live in light of his dad’s age upon death and another relative’s, and based on such data, he was ruing whether or not to renew his passport.”

    Is he depressed or something?

Leave a Reply

