Gallimaufry


Yesterday, son was due to arrive from HK where he went for work. Yes, in Mario weather. So you can just imagine the stress/anxiety husband and I felt, and son did. Would the flight push through to begin with? I’d rather it were canceled than compromise his and his co-passengers and the pilot and his crew’s safety be compromised. But upon checking FlightAware, a phone app, the flight would proceed as scheduled. Husband, on his part, checked naia arrivals, and got the same info. Flight was scheduled to arrive at 6:31, we left the house at 5 pm. Per waze, our trip would take an hour and four minutes but along the way, waze advised that traffic had cleared and we got to NAIA around 6:39. An hour’s wait, we said to ourselves.

As we waited in the dark, the cars beside us left one by one. I prayed my novenas using my Kindle, I didn’t want my phone’s battery to die out as if it did, how could we arrange with son where we’d pick him up? Husband’s phone had no load left. I checked FLightAware and details re arrival hadn’t changed but naia arrivals declared flight was on schedule but would  arrive, on time, at 6:50. It occurred to me then that possibly, the classification “on time” had a plus/minus factor. When I perused the page, I did see this:

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 8.56.18

At 6:47, son texted, “Plane just landed but there’s traffic in the tarmac.”  By 7 pm he was with us. What a relief! Thank God and thank you for all the prayers, C and TPS.

In his text messages prior to flying out, son was apparently apprehensive. Here’s one message:

photo

I texted back, “trust the pilot, trust God.” I only hope God has no billing issue problems. He “delivered” as did the pilot.

*****************

From the airport we proceeded to Power Plant for dinner. My tummy was grumbling my then. Son wanted ramen, ergo Ikkoryu. After having eaten in Ippudo, Ikkoryu, I realize, is not that good. But the place was full. And their gyoza is good. So is their uni appetizer which is actually, gyoza dough served with a sauce one of whose ingredients is uni, ergo (again) the  fishy taste.

*****************

While waiting for a table at Ikkoryu, we checked out the table of goodies in front. Cru Kitchen’s. They let me try their queso de bola cheesecake and dulce de leche cheesecake. I got just slices of them. They also let me taste their bottled dulce de leche which I strongly feel is cooked condensada, but I got a bottle despite that knowledge. Their sea salt caramel is a bit salty, so I didn’t get that. And I got two bundles of their suman from the south: expensive at P100 for 6 pieces! But it tastes good. Seeing the suman made me realize I used to buy from this seller at Eastwood. Really quite good.

Had a little of the dulce de leche cheesecake and realized it’s their queso de bola cheesecake with bottled dulce de leche topping.

Hmmm. giving me ideas.

****************

So yesterday was an admixture of stressful moments punctuated by relief and joy at having son with us again, safe and sound.

******************

In “honor” of Typhoon Mario, saw this on my friends’ wall yesterday:

Screen Shot 2014-09-21 at 19.26.47with a caption asking that Super Mario spare the country from more harm.

Filipino humor never lays low. Joke, never lies low.

Leave a Reply

