Korean Grocery shopping vicariously


I’ve long wanted to go shopping in Wang Mart. Each time we’d pass by Polaris Street near Bel-air, I’d hint. Each time, I failed to have the hint translated into action.

Monday I intend to hire the Wheelmobile to attend the mass for a dear friend’s husband’s cremation. Thereafter, I intend to do some errands. One of them, to get banchan and tea from Wang Mart.

But this pm, before leaving for his date, son asked if I wanted a few things from Wang Mart. And tonight, he texted to ask what these items were. He bought them and more. The stash/loot:

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

I’m excited to try them out but for a hurdle: the instructions are in Korean.

The last photo with the green, brown and red plastic containers are “condiments” which I used to buy in Rustan’s. Now they’re no longer available there.

The two boxes are barley and corn tea. Way back months ago, we were in a Korean resto in Greenbelt. I asked if they sold the corn tea they were serving for free. As a rule, I detest tea. But corn tea I liked. And barley also though not as much as corn. The waiter said corn tea could be bought in K grocery stores in Makati Avenue. That info made me wish we could go to Wang Mart therefore.

The bottles contain marinades. Some time back, son’s girlfriend and on another occasion, son, brought a bottle each when they went to Korea. The black noodle thing also, son brought 3 packs of when he came back from Korea. I’ve seen this is Rustan’s. And I think it’s largely because K dramas always show characters devouring black noodles.

I’m so glad son can sometimes be tasked to do errands of this sort.  Note, “sometimes”. He has bought me thread, a stone fountain, etc. But he has yet to do full-blown grocery shopping for me.

I guess he’s like the express lane in supermarkets? Items not to exceed 10 or 12?

Still I am grateful.

2 thoughts on “Korean Grocery shopping vicariously

  1. Hi Sui. How nice to hear from you again. I was able to see those in Rustan’s Katipunan some time back, but of late, I haven’t. Maybe I wasn’t looking in the right place? Which Shopwise did you see them in? Before son bought them, I had been looking for them. Thanks for the heads up.

Leave a Reply

