Beef Teppanyaki


In Kimpura, I used to order beef yakiniku a lot. Then I tried the beef teppanyaki and decided I liked it more, except that it was (still is, I presume) a lot more expensive.

The other day, I messaged The Food BIn to ask if they had the Japanese steak I would sometimes buy. It is expensive but the quality of the meat cannot be faulted. In the past, we would cook it grilled with salt and pepper, but tonight, I thought of having a Kimpura-like dinner.

As son isn’t home, I had just one slice of steak cooked. I used this recipe. For the sake what I used was the one I bought in Rustan’s which  has a lady in the container that looks like a big tetra pak. I’ll try to look for it online, though I know I posted a photo in the past.

The soy sauce used was Kikkoman light.

To make things simpler for HHA, I didn’t even tell her about the following ingredients:

2 tablespoons finely chopped chives,
for garnish (optional)
1 watermelon radish, thinly sliced,
for garnish (optional)
1 small bunch micro radish sprouts,
for garnish (optional)
drizzle of sesame oil
sesame seeds for garnish

Try it. Be sure to get meat that’s tender and has fat.

I also had HHA watch this video so she’ll see how it’s done

Leave a Reply

