Pulchritudinous


“You laugh at me for being different, I laugh at you for being.”

we were having dinner at a new resto in SM Mega Fashion Hall when husband asked me what “pulchritudinous” meant. I said pulchritude had to do with beauty. Hearing that, he said, I like that man’s shirt. It says: “Pulchritudinous. You laugh at me for being different, I laugh at you for being.”

Truth to tell, I couldn’t see the connection between the word and the sentence after it. But it was enough to draw a comment from my normally reticent husband when the person wearing it smiled as we exited the resto. Husband said to him, “I like your shirt.”

The resto was   photo 2

And the people who own it must be into quotes because while the paper place in the above picture has the definition of the resto’s name on i at the bottom right corner, the left corner has this to say:

photo 1.

For starters, we ordered these:

pineapple buns

photo 3

and photo 4

pork buns – there’s just one in the photo as son and I had gotten our share.

We also ordered the following;

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

That’s tong yoong soup beside the buns and it came with a chicken teriyaki serving of 6 slices (the chicken teriyaki is the long strip in the picture on the right beside the soup.

Son ordered halibut belly, the picture at the bottom.

Husband ordered pork and century egg congee and honey and garlic spareribs – the chunks behind the chicken teriyaki.

My set came with a beverage – tea or coffee or something else – I forget. What I’m certain of is that it wasn’t soda that came as a choice.

Verdict. Unknown to us when we first entered, it was the resto’s opening day. Sure there were flowers in stands in front of the resto, but I didn’t think it was indicative of opening day. Opening week, maybe at the very least.

I point that out because there were a few things one had to excuse and credit to or blame on birth pangs:

a) no soda was available. Cry.

b) no beer was available. Husband cry. Joke but beer, son noticed, was cheap for a resto at P58/bottle of Pilsen.

c) only cash payments were allowed.

d) our pork and pineapple buns came only after we told 3 people that we were ordering them. In fact, one of the main courses had come (my soup) before we issued a third reminder. See, we first told someone, who then told someone who forgot to tell the one finally assigned to our table about it. Proof: a separate order slip was printed for the buns afterward.

Now the food:

a) My soup was super spicy. I needed a Soda! But even before trying it, son offered to get me a can outside, anywhere, I said it might not look good, or worse, might not be allowed. Son loved my soup and said he’d try the laksa next time.

b) The buns. I liked the two kinds and thought the pork buns could well be  Tim Ho wan’s, but son said THW’s dough is thinner. The pineapple bun could serve as dessert

c) the chicken teriyaki – it wasn’t as dry as I feared; it was sweet.

d) the garlic ribs – was also sweet. I’d have preferred spare ribs in tausi but they didn’t have that. This shouldn’t be ordered when one already has chicken teriyaki and vice versa; otherwise one gets sugar overload.

e) the halibut – i liked it, but son, who ordered it, was disappointed by the presence of bones (tinik). He thought it would be filleted and boneless.

f) the congee – this was served with crullers rather than fried pinsec wrapper like Luk Yuen does (did? I haven’t been there in a while). I liked the congee best and husband was so pleased with himself for having ordered it.

Will we go back? Definitely.

Tuan Tuan is beside Ippudo on the third floor. We came in before six and there were empty tables then. Later, we saw a line outside. Not Ippudo-long, but nonetheless, it was a line.

Tuan Tuan is owned by the same owners as Lugang. There were a number present who looked like they were the owners, pulchritudinous among them. One could sense that too, looking at them – very busy.

The energy was high, the food servers were alert and eager to please.

So yes, we’re going back. Some day. Hopefully, soon.

Leave a Reply

