what happens to my family


I intended to stop watching this K drama after seeing how badly the three children, all adults, of a widower were treating their father. I couldn’t stand their attitude. So unfilial.

The doctor son especially is so cold and blames his poverty vis-a-vis other doctors – his lack of credentials and connections – to their sorry financial state – again relative to his co-doctors. When this point was raised, I wondered whether my own son also has similar feelings – for one we can’t afford to send him abroad to get an MBA from an Ivy League school. It feels awful and how I wish it were otherwise, but there it is. Anyway, to go back to the K drama.

When the doctor-son married his way of looking at his family, particularly his dad, took on a bizarre note, bizarre from my POV, that is. He now wanted his hands on his dad’s property upon the advice of the mother–in-law. Uggh.

Until Part 3 of Episode 24, the father was taking things quietly. Then the explosion. I hope he sticks to it although the daughter of the aunt whom the siblings under-appreciated saw things from a different light when one of the siblings said they’d give the aunt money. Like a tutee puts it “People act funny when there’s talk about money”

On a less serious note, I found one scene off-putting for etiquettal reasons.

The step brothers arrived home for dinner, which was laid out formally. One of the dishes was contained in a cooker with a cover. The mother removed the cover and guess where she put it?

On one of the dining table seats.

Horrors. Emily Post would have been aghast.

Amy Vanderbilt would have been disgusted.

Either or both might have fainted. Like so.

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 09.37.42

Image taken from here

4 thoughts on “what happens to my family

  1. Hello Amelie. Thank you very much for the kind words. You have such a way with words you should join writing competitions if you haven’t yet so people will take notice of you and your work. Seriously. Try to do so, please. And keep on writing.

    As for your friend, her experience is very inspiring, maybe we should let it inspire us too, you especially because you’re young. Did she finish ME in the blue school?

  2. Sometimes, when I catch myself thinking of how much I could’ve achieved if it weren’t for my parents’ lack of social connections (and my non-mestiza features, which is their fault, naturally), I try to remember one of my high school best friends. When she was trying to finish Management Engineering on a full scholarship, she had to endure innuendos on her less than impeccable pedigree. Now she’s well on her way to becoming a high-powered marketing executive in Chicago, and she’s happily helping her parents put her four siblings to school. The most amazing thing about her story is that to this day, she’s still the same naive and kindhearted goofball I knew way back when. So yeah, honoring our parents is probably a good idea. 🙂

    Based on your kwento about him, it seems your son is very lucky to have you as a mother po – with or without the Ivy League experience. 🙂

Leave a Reply

