Gallimaufry


Last Saturday, I felt so liberated being able to go out. I was feeling well and excited. Met up with son and his girlfriend at Hatch 22 in Power Plant. Enjoyed my steak order very much, but husband didn’t like his fish and chips. He thereafter pronounced Hatch 22 as “di masarap”. OF course I said, it was just your order that wasn’t, though I’m sure it will be difficult to convince him to eat there again.

One thing I’ve noticed about the resto, they always have stuff that’s not available. I believe my first choice was the lechon but they didn’t have it. For dessert we wanted to try their bibingkoy, not available either. In the past we also  wanted something in the menu that wasn’t available. And son was himself sad that his favorite “Southern Comfort(?)” is no longer in the menu.

What gives?

*************

Went to Quirks again and finally, the toothpick holder I was wanting to get months back but didn’t as it cost some P300 plus, was finally available at 50% off. In the store’s website, I had seen it was marked down but the stores I visited didn’t have it. Finally, success.

Screen Shot 2014-12-02 at 06.36.42

I’ve chosen several items online actually but never concluded a transaction because I want to exercise restraint. There are just so many nice things in Quirks. THey also now carry David and Goliath merchandise, though not its T-shirt line.

Shopping at Quirks can cause dismay, though, as sometimes, what I bought full price is suddenly sold discounted. My worry? The recipient of the Quirks item I got might think me a cheapskate. How will she/he know I got it at full price?  😦

Some of the items I’ve bought in the store:

Screen Shot 2014-12-02 at 06.41.43 Screen Shot 2014-12-02 at 06.42.01 Screen Shot 2014-12-02 at 06.42.21

***************

Rustan’s Supermarket had a crush of people. So many, many people so I found the shopping a bit stressful. I couldn’t wait to finish as I had to buy dinner besides. And the eventual traffic going home was also on my mind.

Luckily, the cashier, Cyril Ann Patricio was all graciousness. She asked if I wanted to use what was in my e-purse (I don’t think that’s the right term, but she was referring to money rewards stored in my Sapphire card, accumulated from its frequent use). I was so relieved she suggested that because it accounted for 5/7 of my total bill. How nice of her, right? But when husband tried to input my PIN, it wasn’t accepted. But Cyril Ann wasn’t flustered. After having husband try maybe 2 or 3 times, she suggested going to Customer Service to change PIN. And she was smiling all throughout. It wasn’t a plastic smile but a real one. I wanted to give her something for her graciousness but husband was in a hurry. I’ll do it next time we go to Rockwell. I just hope it’s allowed.

**********

Finally, got dinner in KAYA. And went home. Mercifully, the ride home took only 45 minutes or less. WAZE rocks. We followed the  recommended route – C5 leading up to FVR road post Libis. HHB was impressed! To think that earlier, son texted to avoid EDSA. He wondered why we got home so quickly because though he himself had taken C5, traffic was bad there too.

Prayers help. 🙂

*********

Just remembered. I had a haircut at Fabio Salsa on R3 of Power Plant. had Rizza do it. I asked if she could do it like the lady’s in a telenovela I’m watching (Okay, so shoot me) and she waited patiently while I googled. The lady:

Screen Shot 2014-12-02 at 07.19.57

But I also told her I didn’t want hair on my face so she cut it a bit longer than the lady’s. Note, said lady is a contravida in the telenovela “What Happens to My Family?”, so what does that make me?

Leave a Reply

