Am I cut out for this?


Michelin rated restos, I mean.

Five years ago, I read about a Michelin rated resto in Dijon where my son was staying for 4 months. On one of those months his birthday fell, so husband and I decided to schedule our brief visit to him then.

On the day of his birthday, we treated his companions to burgers in Le Forum. But the day post his birthday, we had lunch at Stephane Derbord, a place I discovered after reading about it from a column  post written by the very gracious Letty Jacinto in the Phil Star, just weeks prior to our departure. When i wrote her to find out more, she highly recommended the place in her reply. So I promptly made reservations for lunch on 7 Oct 2009 for son, husband, a French lady I had befriended online after inquiring about her apartment and who bought me diapers prior to my arrival, etc., and myself. I chose the cheapest menu at the time, the exchange rate then was 70 pesos/euro. The menu was to be a surprise for all diners. They don’t reveal it until you get there.

Everything was prettily presented but the main course was fish and I nearly died. Okay, that’s a hyperbole, I exaggerate, but you can just imagine my dismay. But who was I to complain? Everyone else enjoyed it. My taste is just too parochial for anything highbrow, I guess.

Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 09.24.41 Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 09.25.01 Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 09.25.22 Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 09.25.40 Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 09.25.56 Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 09.26.13 Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 09.26.41

Then Tim Ho Wan, also a Michelin-rated enterprise, came into my consciousness. Its pork bun, in particular. So yes, there is, after all, a Michelin-rated resto or food I could eat happily.

Two days ago, son invited his father and me to dinner at TBS, whose chef used to work in Michelin-rated restos abroad. I read up on the resto and jiminy cricket, I was dumbfounded: beer based appetizer, cigar type dessert, etc. This will be tonight, my stomach acted up yesterday. In apprehension/anticipation of tonight’s dinner? Actually, after reading up on it, I told son I wasn’t too sure about the resto. But he didn’t seem to hear me. When I told husband, he said, let it be. The menu is set, no ala carte offerings.

I’m reaching out for an Imodium now, hopefully I’ll be ready for tonight’s food adventure.

Wish me luck.

I’ll blog about the experience tomorrow. For now, I wish, all the negative reviews I’ve read about the resto are wrong.

Leave a Reply

