Cornish Hen with Garlic Cream Cheese


Occasionally, Rustan’s has Cornish hen in its freezer. The last time I went (that time we were nearly side-swiped) must have been the third time I bought one, I think the first time from Unimart.

Until today, I haven’t had much luck preparing Cornish hen which being small and a game hen, has a tendency to be tough. But I was hopeful after seeing this recipe for it. Remember that a few days ago, I used 1/2 of a bar of cream cheese for leche flan, ergo the remaining half was sitting idly in the fridge.

While the recipe required  more cream cheese, I opted to be “conservative” and stingy. I made do. And the result was amazing.

In lieu of the herb thing, I chose to use 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp lemon pepper, and 1/2 tsp of a barbecue spice I got from Food Bin some time back. Those and 1/2 tbsp butter were all the ingredients necessary plus a little salt.

The cream cheese inside the chicken was boursin-ish and therefore quite good. Now I won’t yearn for boursin if I don’t find it in the supermarket. I’ll just get cream cheese, add some garlic powder and perhaps, lemon pepper.

Try this recipe out!

This is a non sequitur but just to say that yesterday, I ordered a few items for delivery from Conti’s. The lengua de gato is way too sweet it tastes like meringue. In my opinion, butter should be the topmost flavor in lengua de gato, not sugar. I might as well make my own, except that it’s a bit tedious.

Sloth.

4 thoughts on “Cornish Hen with Garlic Cream Cheese

Leave a Reply

