Making Bread


Eons ago, I learned to make pan de sal in a cooking cum baking class. And even previous to that, Vir, my yaya and the family cook, learned to do that and siopao from scratch. the smell of yeast was just heavenly.

But I didn’t make bread too often as sometimes, the yeast proved uncooperative, the dough refused to rise. I played things by ear – sight mostly, instead of getting a thermometer to measure the temp of the water. SO much for sloth.

So months back, when I saw this recipe in facebook of bread with yummy stringy cheese, I thought I should make it, or try to. I knew I could get sourdough from epicurious in Shangrila, sourdough being the base of this recipe. But somehow I never got round to doing it.

Then I saw this in Rustan’s and got a box.

IMG_3336

It had been languishing in the “pantry” for months when I rediscovered it last December while taking an inventory of stuff there. This jolted me:

IMG_3337

Is the order of numbers month/day/year or day/month/year?

IT occurred to me to gift it last Christmas, to someone who might do it pronto. But I didn’t want to put anyone in a bind.

SO I listed the box’s name in my phone and that hounded me for weeks.

Today, a lazy Saturday morning, I thought I should finally do the bread. Motivation was the recipe I had found in FB but which I couldn’t locate among my bookmarked links.

What to do, what to do?

Google. My search words were: Facebook cheesebread pullout.

I know, such a crude name but in my anxious state, that’s the best I could do.

Luckily, Google’s IQ is superior and the first entry was it. Look:

Screen Shot 2015-01-24 at 09.56.02I googled after having started baking the bread, after it had risen for an hour, was punched down and laid on a tray for another hour’s wait before baking. TPS, I took a photo of its “raw” state prior to rising, forgot to take a photo after it had risen. Here’s the before photo:

IMG_3324

As I read out the procedure for making the pull-apart bread to HHA, she said “ka daming steps, ang hirap.”

Hay, is she of my son’s generation which grew up on cheats, short-cuts, etc. largely because of console and computer games? She is no artisan at all.

To make sure, I’ll have her do the finishing touches in my presence.

Sadly we don’t have mozzarella cheese, just fontina. The bread will stink, that’s for sure.

Hopefully I will not forget to take photos.

ready for baking:

FullSizeRender (1)

Baked IMG_3339

With cheese and butter prior to FINAL baking

FullSizeRender

Final baking result looked burnt, so here’s a sliced portion instead:

IMG_3345

One thought on “Making Bread

Leave a Reply

