DVDs and CDs and Books


Who still buys them in this day and age when there’s streaming and Spotify and e-books?

Truth to tell, I gave a complete CD of Henry Mancini to my sister today, her birthday, and I didn’t buy it just recently but years ago. My MacAir has no CD player, so there’s no way I can listen to it any longer. And there’s SPotify besides to which I have a subscription that costs P129 a month. Funny thing is that I tend to listen to the same songs anyway, among them Burt Bacharach, Burt Bacharach and Burt Bacharach. I do listen to Fifth Dimension and Friends of Distinction, Schumann and other classical composers, but it’s mostly Burt BAcharach and some Broadway stuff like Sound of Music.

But guess what? As I still have a Sony DVD player which I used heavily back when I was buying DVDs in St. Francis Square until the DVDs’ subtitles were so bad that I could only guess what the Koreans were saying, I bought myself not just one but two Korean drama DVDs, not in Korea, but in Amazon.com

Indulge me. I had long wanted to watch Love WInd, Love Song which stars Jang Dong Gun but it’s not available online. Years back, I saw it in Amazon but thought it too extravagant of me if I bought it because of the freight charges. So I said, never mind. This is JDG:

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 19.05.45

Then I read of another K drama movie, Penny PInchers which stars another favorite K actor, him (I can never remember his name(:

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 19.04.45

While I was mulling over whether to buy the two DVDs or not, a friend based in the US told me of a recipe book she heavily used: Mark Bittman’s. Aha, I rationalized, I could order the two DVDs and the recipe book.

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 19.08.14

Alas and alack, the book is available in Kindle format, so I could buy it without having to spend on freight. And did.

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 19.09.40I thought again. Delayed gratification for so many years for Love Wind, Love Song. I also haven’t seen Song something for years as he’s in the military now, doing his compulsory service.

So I clicked and ordered both DVDs and nothing more, no bags, no wallets, nothing. I also promised myself I’d not buy anything from M&S till a few months from now. Etc., etc., etc.

Today I got the following info from Amazon:

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 19.12.14

Delayed gratification yet again; I had both mailed really slowly so I’d have to pay not as much as if I wanted them in two days or a week even. Funny because I first ordered just PP, then decided I should order LWLS. Then I canceled both, thinking I could save precious pesos if I ordered them simultaneously, ergo one shipment.

But look at what they did: separate shipments, I just hope the total will not be much different.

I also fervently hope I won’t have to get these from the post office or that if I have to, I won’t have to pay Customs an arm and a leg? Please God, have them delivered to my doorstep?

Leave a Reply

