Going to Philpost soon, DFA too?


A few days prior to my birthday, I ordered 2 DVDs from Amazon of two Korean movies I want to watch. One of them I had been longing for, for years now. It stars Jang Dong Gun, C! The leading lady is now his wife.

The second movie stars the male lead of Innocent Man who’s now under military training, ergo I haven’t seen him in ages. Hahaha, I sound as though we’re personally known to each other, right?

My orders:

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 11.37.47

This morning, 6 March 2015, the doorbell rang and yielded this:

FullSizeRender

I’m presuming it’s for one of the two, except that it’s way too early. I’m not expecting anything from anyone, so it could only be one of the two, right?

I hope the notice for the second one comes soon so I can get the Wheelmobile to claim both. OR what if I risk it and check if both have arrived sans the other notice? Would that be foolhardy?

It has been a spell since I claimed anything in the post office. The last time I did the fee was P35, now it’s P100.

Do I maximize my time while out there and get a postal ID? What will that entail? Please click on images to enlarge:

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 11.42.54

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 11.43.07

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 11.43.37

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 11.44.29

Some deterrents to getting one in my case:

I don’t want to submit my original birth and marriage certificates because:

a. they’re not cheap to procure (I ordered online so P300 plus each)

b. they’re not easy to procure

Why are the originals necessary anyway?

Moreover, what institutions accept the Philpost ID?

I need to renew my passport and I’m thinking of doing so, not to travel but for ID purposes. Checked out the acceptable IDs for renewing and the Philpost ID is not listed:

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 11.49.29

So, will I get a Philpost ID?Or should I get a Voter’s ID instead and go to Comelec after going to Philpost? They’re not too far from each other and when I called Comelec in QC, I was assured the process would be quick.

DO I renew my passport? For ID purposes more than anything else? Niece renewed hers in Megamall and the process took all of 30 minutes. PWDs are given priority, her husband who was in crutches in recent months, said.

At present, I only have an SSS ID and a PWD ID; I’m not counting my passport as it has expired.

Decisions, decisions.

Now I wonder no more why there are proponents for a one-ID system. Confronted by these questions, I see the rationale behind having just one ID for all government transactions.

Why was that proposal “killed”? If I recall correctly, one argument against it was like it would make government like Big Brother (reminiscent of BB in George Orwell’s 1984, not ABS-CBN’s Pinoy BB, mind you. Here’s the link to a wikipedia article on the original Big Brother).

But other countries have a one-card system, I think? Do the citizens of those feel like their government is stalking them?

6 thoughts on “Going to Philpost soon, DFA too?

  1. Sadly, 100 na nga. I ordered a holder for my iphone (when I use it with my tripod). It was only $1, with free shipping pa from HK. So medyo di ako masaya na I paid more than twice sa storage fee ng PO. 😦

Leave a Reply

