Funnies (?!)


I asked HHA if we had calamansi for juice. She said no. I asked, “Doesn’t our tree have fruits any longer?” She said, “Ara” (meaning, there is).

I rest my case. Calamansi, unless its off the tree, cannot be made into juice ergo a house with a calamansi tree that is prolific will not have calamansi for juice unless it’s taken from the tree. Conundrum?

************

HHA still. In my last trip to S&R, I saw a T-bone steak that didn’t cost an arm and a leg. I told HHA to cook it. She said she’d remove the bone. I was flummoxed. I said, “No.” She insisted it should be. I insisted it shouldn’t. The steak remains in the freezer.

*********

FullSizeRender (1)

One of the tips of my fan was detached from the cloth portion. I asked HHB to glue it back a few days back.

This morning, I guess sensing how I was in a good mood, she showed it to me. She announced it could no longer be closed. I asked why – she said the glue she put on the tip dripped all the way to the bottom. But I pointed out, the tip wasn’t glued well and if there’s a drip, only a portion of that stem would be glued to the next, but in my fan’s case, the glue extended to the portion I hold.

Another conundrum? Go figure. My fan is now catatonic.

**********

Last night I was watching Aquino and Abunda as HHB told me Edu and Sharon might be guests as they were making their comebacks in ABS. When I looked there was this young girl I didn’t recognize, of course. Son was in the room with me. I said, “Look at the neckline of her dress. What car logo is that?” Son looked and smiled, shaking his head. He said, “Mercedes Benz”.

***********

The other night, my husband and son were watching some sport on TV. They sounded so excited, so I checked. I said, “Anong klaseng hair iyan? Nagulat? Natakot?” Son said, smiling “The comments you make are so funny!”

I guess they are in the sense that these two men were talking from the sport’s point of view, I was talking about the athlete’s appearance.

Our microcosm shows how the world is made up of…

Leave a Reply

