Shopping after the near accident


After lunch at Mango Tree, we hied off to the Active something building to check out Cath Kidston. Before one sees it, one sees Mothercare first. The sign of CK is inside the store, so obscure one could miss it. Son did and we had to call out to him to say we had found the store.

If I had the budget and the space, I’d have bought a number of items in CK. There was one iPhone case I particularly liked, it had birds in it, but there was none for my iPHone model (5c). There was an iPhone case too that had pockets for credit cards. Such a good idea, but alas, none for my phone.

I also liked the aprons and were I still standing, I’d have bought one for myself. They had half aprons (for the skirt portion only) and full ones.

I liked the ballet skirt they had for young girls. So dainty.

They had envirosax type bags too that sold for P600 plus. Some items were being sold at discounted prices as CK is having its mid-season sale.

Some pictures:

Screen Shot 2015-03-23 at 06.36.52 Screen Shot 2015-03-23 at 06.37.43

Screen Shot 2015-03-23 at 06.38.30

Screen Shot 2015-03-23 at 06.39.16

Screen Shot 2015-03-23 at 06.40.10

Screen Shot 2015-03-23 at 06.41.16

Screen Shot 2015-03-23 at 06.43.18See those two men among the plates and boxes? They make up a salt and pepper set. The cutlery in wooden boxes aren’t cheap at P3.9k. I held one to check whether the flower design would tear off after washing, I don’t think they will. The sppon I held though was rather light, I prefer my cutlery on the heavy side.

See the ballet skirt? It has ballerina prints on it. Are those aprons or jumpers? I’m not sure now but don’t they look cute?

Screen Shot 2015-03-23 at 06.46.58

They also had dresses and pants for adults.

***********

After CK, we went back to the building that houses mostly SSI stores to check out Pottery Barn. Months back, I fell in love with a cushion and I was almost sure it would no longer be there. I was right. It had a white background and orange and blue prints. I regret not having bought it. Sigh.

PB has no many nice stuff – the chairs, the tables, the backpacks, lunch boxes and luggage for children and even adults who continue to be fans of Star Wars. I think my son wanted some of the SW stuff – bedsheets, pillow cases, etc, a luggage with wheels, a lunch box even. He even tried on a backpack with a mask of Spiderman. Another backpack had the cape of Superman. And of course if you have a little girl, PB is such a wonderland. It has small cushiony chairs – think Goldilocks and the 3 bears. But these came in only one size but of different prints.

For house stuff, PB has a lot of nice stuff as well. Got a cutlery basket and as this had no cover, napkins to cover it with. The napkins were sold in 4’s, so no choice. Though one or two would have sufficed, we had to get one set.

IMG_3703

PB spells a happy feeling.

*********

On the second floor of the building is a store we hadn’t visited till yesterday: Hamleys. Toys galore, even my normally bored husband was enamored. Monopoly sets, Boggle, wiping board (white boards), easels, dolls, bags, etc. A thought occurred to me – a  toy store should also sell books related to the toys – like Richard Scarry Books, for instance. Hamleys had a water bin where swam a frog, a fish, etc. I’d like to go back to this store which reminds me of Hobbes and Landes just a bit.

**********
I was feeling thirsty but though son said we should buy water in Starbucks, I opted not to – so many people. When we were on the elevator, son insisted we buy water in Rustan’s Marketplace (B1) and so we did. Well I got Coke for myself, water for him and husband, and a juice drink for husband. Son didn’t enter the supermarket as he was carrying our purchases from other stores. Beyond the drinks, we didn’t shop for anything else (Surprise!) as I know how bored husband gets doing so.

As we were about to leave Marketplace, a lady rushed to us – it was son’s boss during his summer internship 4 or 5 years ago. What a blessing to finally meet her. She was as warm in person as she has been as a FB friend.

Yesterday wasn’t totally bad. IN fact, that we came out whole after the near accident was a decided blessing.

**********

I almost forgot, under Mango Tree, close to the foot of the ramp is a store called Punt o Roma. On the window display a sign read Sizes 36-48. I asked the lady there if I could fit in any of their clothes. She said size 46. Ouch.

The designs are okay, ranging from malling clothes to corporate wear and formal wear. But the material was mostly polyester, which I have never felt comfortable in. In fact, when I taught, I was a maverick, opting to have blouses made of cotton rather than polyester though all the teachers in school wore polyester. But I did wear polyester skirts.

Anyway to go back to the store, a dress on display that I liked had beautiful flower prints that somehow reminded me of these pictures

Leave a Reply

