Tomorrow’s Dinner


Son went to Ilocos Monday, is back tonight but not sleeping here as he’s tired. Missing him, I prepared onion bread for him to have tomorrow and intend to make chicken pot pie as well.

Years back, when my son was a member of an org, the members and their families would have lunch together. One mom brought over chicken pastel which I truly enjoyed. The “gravy” in it was white rather than yellow, brown or orange. But as it was her sister who caters who made it, I didn’t think it proper to ask for the recipe.

For tomorrow’s pot pie, I researched. Pillsbury I always rely on. And I found this recipe. As I am not a fan of frozen veggies, I intend to use   carrots, potatoes and mushrooms, not the canned one which has a fishy smell/taste sometimes.

And for the crust, while the PIllsbury recipe calls for refrigerated pie crusts, I intend to make my own, using a different recipe. This one of Martha Stewart’s has sugar in it, just a little, and I’m eager to try it.

Note that the Pillsbury chicken pot pie uses double crust. I intend to do that too.

Wish me luck,

One thought on “Tomorrow’s Dinner

Leave a Reply

