Ovaltine cheesecake


When my son was in high school, I saw this Ovaltine booklet in a magazine I bought. I am sure he was in high school because it was then that I baked the brownie recipe in that booklet and many liked it, one of them his best friend. Yes, the one who was in an accident. I can still see him swinging the plastic bag which had a plastic case of brownies I gave him when their closed retreat ended.

Anyway, from the said booklet I chanced upon a Graham cracker crust which I must say is the best I’ve ever tried. It comes out neat because it has the right amount of crumbs, sugar and butter: 1.25 cups of crumbs, 1.5 tbsp sugar, and 2/3 cup melted butter.

The cream cheese portion requires many steps – whip the cream, sift the Ovaltine, etc. Luckily for me, HHA didn’t complain even as I asked her to bring me one bowl, then another, then another. Measuring cup for solids, measuring cup for liquids, etc.

Guess what, I think it doesn’t taste as originally intended because Ovaltine, at leat the bag HHA got,  was of the 3-in-one variety. Ergo, there were duplications in the ingredients, milk and sugar wise. Didn’t bother to diminish the quantities in the recipe but methinks if I had used Ovaltine as sold before 3-in-one came to be, the Ovaltine taste would be more pronounced.

Progress. Convenience. Instant. There are trade-offs.

Leave a Reply

