Freight charges


So expensive. Ordered pressure sore medicine from Amazon. This:

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 13.56.42

Delivery by Johnny Air to our doorstep? P2124.89.

Ouch.

Another odd thing.

Look at the dates the two jars of pressure sore creams were delivered to JA in New York:

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 13.57.48 Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 13.58.06

Two days ahead of the Duoderm gel I got today. But they have yet to arrive.

Puzzling.

How I wish on days like this that I lived in the US where ordering and delivery are so much cheaper Funny reasons, I know. But you get the rationale.

Or maybe I should wish harder I didn’t have pressure sores anymore? I ordered these when I thought Mebo was going to take really long to surface if at all. I also mistakenly ordered Duoderm without checking whether Mercury had it. It did. It does. Our branch sourced it for me from another. A smaller tube costs P189, more or less.

Lessons learned anyway.

*******

Feeling unsettled, I called JA re the charge. Spoke with Kristine who said the package came in a box and was 5 pounds. How can three 30 gram tubes of medicine weigh 5 pounds? And they didn’t come in a box even but in a brown envelope lined with bubble wrap?

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 15.05.57 Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 15.06.05

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 15.06.15

As I was typing the above, received a text from JA as follows (see last message):

IMG_5223

You may wonder what alerted me to the possibility that something was amiss. When I asked how much I’d be charged for the freight of the two forthcoming jars, I said, “P2k each?”, ready to faint if she said yes. SHe said P1.5k for both. I was taken aback of course because these were jars.

So I questioned the  steepness of the charge for the 3 tubes.

I’m glad they will correct it but it just leaves me a tad sad with such questions as:

a. What if I didn’t bother to question charges? In the past I’d just pay whatever they said because my presumption was they were right each time.

b. Fear that the two jars of creams would cost me P2k each for delivery scared me to say the least.

So there.

Vigilance is key, but shouldn’t trust also be key? Tao lang so they make mistakes but then again, can’t they be more careful?

Do I have to be paranoid each time I have an item shipped? How many times might I have been erroneously charged in the past?

SIGH.

Still, thank you JA for making it possible for us to have medicines and other important stuff shipped to our part of the world where they are non-existent.

PPS:

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 15.16.24

In my inbox (email) I saw the above. NO apology, just a declaration of rectification in the future.

A sorry would have been appreciated and a promise of better service.

But I guess if neither was meant and therefore not conveyed, best that neither was mentioned?

***********

I answered their email with this:

Sana naman mag-ingat kayo. Baka in the past this happened without my noticing because I trusted you too much.

Anyway, thank you for the promise to make up for it in the next package.
And got this response:
yes mam, sorry for the inconvenience
**********
So there.
Lesson learned: couple trust with vigilance.
I hope this mistake does not recur ever.

4 thoughts on “Freight charges

  1. I was surprised with the Php 2k charge. The last time I paid that much from JAC was when I had a shipment about the size of a double burner gas stove. To think that the box was so lightweight, it can flew away with a blow of an electric fan. Hehehehe The company where I shopped enclosed the canvas bag I ordered in a huge box. What made me feel worse, the charge of JAC was more expensive than the cost of the bag. So I can definitely relate to your experience. JAC is good in terms of speed, what I hate though is the unexpected and unpredictable freight charges.

  2. Thanks for this entry — it reminded me to always be vigilant/ Ako rin, I always think na computerized sila and error-free and computation. I sometimes forget that human yung nagpa-punch ng numbers.😦

    • Kasi I’m numero uno sa pagka inefficient. My sister keeps all her credit car bills and checks them against the statement when it comes. Checks also. Me?

Leave a Reply

