West Side Story 12 September 2008 – a review of sorts


Early this evening, before I left the house, I got a text message from a certain number not in my directory. The message came from Tim, one of the organizers from manila theater from whom I bought the ticket. Tim, Stewart’s friend. He asked me to text him once we reached Meralco so he could assist us. I never expected this from him. Yes, I am in a wheelchair and he remembered that. It had never occurred to me to ask for assistance and that it was offered, wow! Way to go, manilatheater.com. May your tribe increase.

When we reached Meralco Theater, as has been our wont, we proceeded to the left side where we’ve used the ramp a few times. But the guard nearby told us we should go through the front of the theater. When we did, we saw no ramp so I called TIm who then asked us to go to the right side where there too was a ramp and with whose personnel he had made arrangements for us to be let through. And he was there waiting for us too. My son said he looks like Chris Tiu. My sister said “no”. My son was adamant. He said “that’s how Chris Tiu looks on a daily basis.” I guess he meant off-court. Thanks again Tim. And just in case Stewart put you up to it, and even if he didn’t, thanks, too Stewart.

Now to the play. Oh but before that, to the theater personnel. The usherettes were very strict. A voice warned that cell phones should be turned off and in case someone was caught taking pictures, the ushers would ask that person to delete the pictures due to copyright reasons. ANd my where the usherettes strict. I saw at least 3 people admonished to turn off their phones. How I wish though, that they were more cordial about it. They were a tad harsh.

For a disabled who wishes to watch in Meralco Theater, some advice: go for either the first row among the loge seats, opt for the side most. Or go for the last row of the balcony, again, side most. The view isn’t bad at all because the theater, as either Stewart or Tim told me, is not too big so even from the side the view is all right.

To theater goers: do go early. It’s a bit annoying when suddenly, people pass by once the play has started, thereby obstructing one’s view even if fleetingly.

Now to the play proper: Gian Magdangal was very good. I guess his Kundirana experience did him well. His voice was powerful, he was very confident. I’m sure if he had been Tony, he’d be good too.

Christian – voice was all right, dancing needs a bit more polish.

Jake Macapagal – now don’t laugh. I first noticed him in Batibot. Hahaha. I’m 52 years old and when was Batibot shown? In the early 90s? And I watched it? I had a growing son then and so I watched with him. JM then somehow made an impression and I was saddened when he disappeared. I learned then that he had gone abroad for Miss Saigon? I can’t remember now. Then a few years ago he came back but how he’d thinned out. But he made a good Bernardo. Sinister — or is that word too strong? And his legs, they’re so thin. But my son was impressed with his dancing and he came on really strong. Just right for the role.

Anita – my was she good! She really stood out. Am not sure but it think it was Ms. Vilar? Danced very well, sang very well, acted very well. yes she was very good. She had fire the way Rita Moreno had. She could really dance and sing. Good casting there. Very good casting.

Karylle – a revelation. Weeks back I caught her singing a portion of Tonight on TV and I thought she was having difficulty reaching the high notes. But tonight she was superb. And she can dance very gracefully. She fit the role to a T, very feminine, very refreshing. If she were my daughter, I’d catch her every performance and not tire of it. Paging Zsazsa. And Dr. Tatlonghari. Congratulations. Oh I forgot occasionally, karylle forgot to roll her “rrrs” the way a Hispanic does.

The sets were very nice, lighting too. But the sound sometimes popped. A bit distracting but as the show was overall very good, such glitches are forgiven.

Oh yes, the Jets. I liked their acting, verve, etc. There was this guy, the shortest, I think, who had stage presence. He danced and acted quite well.

And the ladies — the producers promised the dancing would be good and they weren’t lying.

Congratulations, Audie and Menchu. Years ago Audie would have been a shoo-in for any role. Tony, maybe? Except that Tony’s role is rather brief.

I don’t know why but as I watched the ladies dance, I constantly remembered Anna Marie Aragon, Julie Borromeo’s daughter. I know I watched Rep performances where she figured and she was quite the dancer.

3 thoughts on “West Side Story 12 September 2008 – a review of sorts

  1. Hi fil. When we checked the “face” against the picture in the programme, I was almost sure it was the Vilar girl. Then I showed the programme to my husband and he said it looked more like Pam G. age wise. But the build of the body, I think, looked like Vilar. Sana someone will enlighten us no? I asked one of the organizers from whom I bought the ticket who Anita was. He didn’t know. Research tayo. If you get the answer, share please.

  2. I also watched the September 12 musical in Meralco. And I too was smitten by Anita’s performance.

    I wanted to know if it was Pam G or Rowena Villar who played her that night. I wasn’t sure since my seat was up there on the balcony so I couldn’t really see in detail.

    The “America” scene with Anita dancing is fantastic! It’s my favorite part from the whole musical! Great, great talent… I wish I knew if it was Ms. Pam G or Ms. Villar who donned Anita that night… truly a great talent! 🙂

Leave a comment