Dusit Thani’s Cross-Over Buffet


Dusit Thani, which was Hotel Nikko formerly, has this buffet that involves 4 restos in the hotel, located not too near each other. In fact, two are on the ground floor, another two on the mezzanine.

This set-up made me dither about trying it out, but this morning I was feeling adventurous. And my son and husband were willing to try it out as well. But let me backtrack.

After mass we had two dining options: Ukokei in Pasay Road, and Dingdong Dantes’s Krave resto in Palanca Street in Legaspi Village. Our first stop was Krave, but what do you know, it was 11:10 a.m. and the resto was closed. Don’t they open on Sundays? Seeing that, we went to Pasay Road in search of Ukkokei. Found it not and ended in DT. Had a valet park the car.

*****

We were clueless about where to start. A man in a cotton long-sleeved barong tried to be helpful but was apparently not too knowledgeable about the buffet. He did tell us to go to Basix which was on the left side of the entrance. We entered the place, but no one told us what to do. We went out and saw this lady whom we engaged in conversation. She told us that Basix has a little of everything, particularly Asian cuisine. We went back in and saw sashimi et al. Still on an exploratory mood, we then hied off to Umu, the Japaense resto which is on the right after you pass the elevator, but deeper into the hotel. We scoured the place and saw Japanese food (what an inane statement): sushi, sashimi, salmon balls, etc. It was empty at that point. As I wasn’t sure the elevator would bring us to the mezzanine (some elevators don’t), I asked one lady if it would. She led us to the elevator where someone else accompanied us to the mezzanine. But before that, we stopped before this indigenous instrument (string/percussion) laid on a stage. We asked what it was called and were told it was a kim. (Later we found out it’s spelled KHIM). Then we proceeded to the mezzanine.

Tosca is the Italian resto on the left (the way Basix is). In it, Proseco, a sparkling wine, is served free and bottomless. Promise. So that’s what we decided to make our base.

No, I didn’t partake of the Proseco. Ice cold water was enough, until I asked and was told that sodas are free and bottomless in Basix. Husband got me a glass from there which he said was dispensed from a dispenser (how inane that sounds, again!).

The Italian spread had bread but no cheeses, cold cuts, ham with Hawaiian sauce, pasta choices, risotto (yummy – which a choice of asparagus, mushrooms, bacon, parmesan cheese, etc. – take all or some), gratinated tomatoes, garlic and mushrooms, capers, etc.

While I stayed in Tosca, husband and son checked out Umu and Benjarong, the fourth resto with Thai food. Son got crunchy spicy chicken which was very good. This was when I felt the need for Coke, badly. There was pad thai as well, but son had made it too spicy so he said I shouldn’t try it.

At Umu he got the beef teppanyaki, cream dory teppanyaki and shrimps. The beef teppan was so good he said he should just have gotten that and no more. It was freshly cooked besides. Husband got sashimi and sushis, but we hardly touched these as we were too full. (He also got gindara but maintained Kimpura’s was unbeatable.) Besides I had gotten some smoked salmon from the Italian spread.

Overall, I’d say this is the best buffet I’ve ever had, particularly because of the freshly prepared risotto and beef teppan.

As for dessert choices, when I asked what dessert was best, one lady in Tosca told me “hot chocolate”. I asked, “with churros?” She looked at me strangely. But she said it was the best-seller, so I said to go ahead and get me one. It was good, like choco fudge and it was warm. It reminded me of the icing/frosting of the choco cupcake in Mom and Tina’s.

After lunch we lingered a little at the Murano display/stall. The lady manning the place was very involved and enthusiastic, patiently telling us how much things were, citing the possibility of discounts. The prices ranged from a thousand pesos for a pendant, to a P35k neckpiece. A hairclip that was really colorful cost P3500. No, I didn’t buy anything. I did see the pendant son got me from Rome two years ago. He had been very proud to give me this Murano piece. It cost less there than it did here. (Note that also available were crucifix pendants and crucifixes for the wall, small clocks, etc. Very interesting array.)

Anyway, as  we looked at the stuff thereat, I heard my name being called (I had used my credit card to pay which was why they knew my name). The lady began, “Ma’am you forgot…” I immediately panicked and thought – “my credit card” (horrors)! But no, it was husband’s iPod that had been left behind. Whew – that it wasn’t mine and Whew that they returned it. The girl in the Murano stall then recounted how honest the people in Tosca are and how even the cleaning lady in the washroom is as well.

Except for the lack of product knowledge which can be improved on, DT is a hotel that gives one a nice-feeling. Everyone smiles and is gracious. Some even put their palms together, mutter a greeting and bow, Thai style, undoubtedly.

*****

At the lobby, we again paused before the Thai instrument. Earlier husband had seen a young lady playing it. Son couldn’t resist tinkering with the strings. Shortly after, a lady who looked Filipina but spoke with a foreign accent smiled at us. She was Thai. I asked if it was she who played the instrument. Yes, she said. Husband asked to see the “hammer” used to strike the strings. She obliged.

Happy, happy, happy. We got a free parking ticket and even the valet service which was pegged at P55 was free because our bill reached a certain amount. Note that we got a 15% discount for paying the bill with a Citibank credit card. And this isn’t a plug.

Three pictures:

One is of my wrist/arm with the DT tag signifying our having cross-over buffet so we could go from one resto to another. (I felt like a baby in a nursery) The two others are scenes leading to UMU or near it.

 

Leave a comment