Lunch at Le Gourmet in Rustan’s Katipunan


There are three tables in front of the LG counters in Katipunan. The counters display ready made sandwiches (ham, chicken, turkey), salads (potato, Russian, macaroni), quiche (spinach, mushroom, ham) and cakes (mocca, cheesecake, etc). Before my friend arrived, I had maid C get me the following: turkey sandwich with cranberry, Russian salad, spinach quiche and mocca cake. The idea was to share it if she thought it was enough or take home the extras if she decided on buying more. I also had Maid C get me a can of Coke from the supermarket area. See, everything is self-service. Luckily for me, one of the ladies behind the LG counter used to be a cashier of the supermarket and she was very solicitous, giving me plastic forks and knives, styropor, etc. No, they didn’t have plastic plates, much less porcelain ones though earlier on, one of the men behind the counter did. I thought it was for me to use, but guess what, he laid the mini cake on it. Okay. I’m not too fond of this guy who used to be inside the supermarket too. My cheekbones might strain from smiling at him, he never smiles back. Oh well, now when I see him, I let my cheekbones relax.

Friend came. As I hadn’t gotten her refreshments, she bought caffe latte at Starbucks and a slice of cheesecake. The food was enough to share she decided. So we ate and talked, ate and talked. One of my sister’s friends stopped by to chat a bit. As we were talking with her, I saw a tiny creature hovering on top of the clear plastic that covered the trays of turron and company. I restrained myself, hoping my eyes were playing tricks on me. When friend of my sister left, I saw the eight legged creature again and told the people manning the counter, among them the UNSMILING ONE (my friend-former cashier was not there) that there was a roach. Without looking embarrassed, without acknowledging my having said anything, he approached the creature and tried to flick it away. So  it was flicked away but still breathing. And I saw it on the floor in front of me. It was too small to be disgusting, but it was still a roach. So I told UO, it’s there. Still with a catatonic face, he proceeded to the front of the counter and flicked it away. My friend and I said “patayin mo na kasi.” NR – as in no reaction. Grrrrr… Why do men flick pesks away rather than swat them dead? Diri? Though I have a nephew who took a lighter once and singed a flying roach to death. Oh well… It’s a male malaise, I guess.

Leave a comment